h1

Count Me In

January 11, 2010

Late last year, there was this. Then over the weekend, there was this. And finally, as I was sitting down to lunch today while browsing through the net, I saw this. I’m hardly surprised, considering all the great stuff I’ve heard about EVE Online recently. First published in 2003, the game is a player-driven sandbox MMO set against a futuristic sci-fi background, and boasts more than 300,000 subscribers all playing on one server. And that number is growing every day.

Jumping onto the band-spaceship and giving it a shot.

Enough is enough. As a game, EVE Online had been on my radar screen for a while now, but now I think I finally have to give it a try. So, I started my free 14-day trial account and in under an hour I was in New Eden going through the game tutorial. Already, I can tell that all the things I’ve heard about this game are true: it is unlike any MMO I have played before, and there’s going to be a steep learning curve. Clearly, there will be lots to do and I figure I’d better put those multitasking skills to good use, stat!

I’ll be posting more of my thoughts on this game in the next two weeks, but here’s what I noticed right off the bat–the community is amazing. For example, the rookie channel is constantly alive, full of experienced players providing answers to newcomers asking questions, so quickly that it made my eyes hurt to follow the conversations. Usually, as with any forum with a large number of participants and the inevitable troll or two, channels like these often quickly devolve into virtual feces-hurling flamefests, but it didn’t happen here. Helpers remained ever patient, obvious trolls were generally ignored, and even the most noobish but sincere questions were answered. I look forward to seeing more of this game in the days to come.

4 comments

  1. Old post, but I’m curious – what’d you end up thinking about EVE? It’s the only MMO I’ve ever subscribed to, so I’m curious as to what you thought about the game.


    • Fun for sure, but definitely a game that requires a lot of time investment, and would probably be even better if I had a group of friends to play with in a corporation. The learning curve was also pretty steep, but I don’t think it’s too much of a problem if one take the time to play and read through the tutorials. I didn’t think I would like sandboxes, but I ended up liking it a little too much. I ended up having too many things I wanted to do and not having enough time to do it, and that’s really what made me stop playing, if that makes any sense :P

      The only thing I didn’t like about EVE was probably the click to move system. I could probably never get used to that, and the most frustrating thing about the system was combat.


  2. Old post as well, so don’t mind me digging through the archives doing casual research. Then again research for me isn’t that casual it usual mean I have some interest in something and currently my Galactic Forecast is predicting EVE.

    And Actually EVE been on my radar for seven years now just about since it was first released. I remember when it was first launching as I was starting to play my first online game in Secondlife back then and as a investment in my gaming future I had just bought a Mac PC desktop and was debating downloading EVE. I never got around to it then and it’s been stuck in the back of mind since. I ended up playing Secondlife as a sandbox designing enviroments and landscaping sims on private islands for about 3 years.

    Yet I’ve always remained with the facination of playing EVE and determining my own fate in that sandbox deepspace MMO. STO happen to get in the way before my long range scanners zoned in on EVE.


    • Nice, as you can see, EvE wasn’t bad, I just had to be in a certain mood for it, as with the case with me and all sandbox games. I also had a hell of a time adjusting to the combat system and using the mouse for everything.

      I hope you’ll find enjoyment if you ever do get a chance to try out EvE, and look forward to reading your thoughts if you do.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,417 other followers