h1

Searching for my Sci-Fi Fix

January 17, 2010

Over the last few days, I’ve been trying to divide my time between playing the Star Trek Online beta and my EVE Online trial. And I gotta be honest–most of the time, STO wins out.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy EVE Online. It’s a fun game…just a different kind of fun. It’s not surprising that most gamers call it a “niche market MMO” as it’s certainly not for everybody. I personally don’t even know if it’s right for me yet. Sometimes I think, “Gosh, I don’t really feel like playing the game right now, but I really should log in real quick just to queue up my skills training.” Fast forward to two hours later, and I would find myself still in the game, and whether it’s doing some mining or carrying on a mission, I just don’t want to stop playing.

It’s a little hard to explain. There are times when EVE feels less like fun and more like work, and after a long, tedious day the last thing I feel like doing is play the game. Yet, once I’m actually in it, I get hooked instantly. When it comes to theme park MMOs vs. sandbox MMOs, I thought I would naturally gravitate towards the former simply because I’m a goal-oriented person, ie. I enjoy being provided with a sense of direction so I know just exactly what I’m working for every step of the way. Yet, the beauty of the sandbox MMO is that you’re allowed so much freedom, and that feeling easily becomes addictive. For me, this addiction manifested itself in the form of my in-game to-do list, to which I kept adding items faster than I could check them off. Before I know it, it’s way past my bedtime and the game has sucked me in once again.

Unfortunately, I’m not sure if this justifies subscription. While I realize STO and EVE are completely different beasts, apples and oranges, they just happen to be the two games I am trying out concurrently. Personal opinion alert! I won’t lie; if I had to choose my sci-fi fix based solely on my own level of enjoyment–that is, the pure and unadulterated no-strings-attached fun experienced–I think I would have to go with STO at this time.

5 comments

  1. Glad to see you’re enjoying STO, though I gotta admit I’m more glad to see that you liked EVE well enough also.

    I’m an EVE player myself, and should you ever decide to give it another go, add me (“Boaz Netopalis”) to your address book. I’m always happy to chat, give info/advice, meet up to help kill things, let you salvage missions I run, etc. I even do a little bit of market trading, manufacturing, and research so I can walk you through all that too. TBH, about the only things I don’t do are mine and pvp, and I want to get to the pvp soon enough too, so……

    Enjoy STO! I’m sure I will at some point also, but IRL finances don’t let me right now.


    • I have to say, I did have a lot of fun with EVE. It’s unlike any game I’ve ever played before. On the surface, it doesn’t sound like anything I would ever enjoy, but once I’m actually in the game, I just can’t stop.

      I never say never, so being back in EVE is definitely a possibility :)


      • I completely agree. I had a friend bugging me for a year to play EVE with him and it didn’t sound like something I’d like, but….. I’m hooked. Go figure.


  2. Just digging through the archives here reading :)


    • Haha, it’s so weird now to look through my old posts, even though they were only from a couple months ago.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,380 other followers