Archive for February 21st, 2010

h1

Mass Effect 2: The Conclusion

February 21, 2010

It’s been tough getting time on the Xbox this past week with the TV tuned to the Winter Olympics more often than not, but I finally did it. More than 55 hours of gameplay later, I am done with Mass Effect 2. I think my past posts on this game have done more than enough to show how much I adore it. Like many gamers have stated, it definitely lives up to the original and surpasses it in many ways, so what more can I say? Bioware does it again, and I’m proud that they’re a Canadian company. While I’m aware that their Austin branch has their hands full right now developing Star Wars: The Old Republic, how awesome would it be if they made a Mass Effect MMORPG one day? I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s salivating at the very idea, and I think the IP contains all the main ingredients that would make it a successful one.

Warning: The following post contains spoilers for Mass Effect 2. You have been warned!

Areas covered: Omega 4 Relay and Ending

The game is over and Shepard saves humanity once again! But, seriously, spoilers ahead, beware.

Things couldn’t have worked out better for my Shepard. Not everyone made it out alive, but if they had, where would be the fun in that? This last part of the game required Shepard to delegate some rather tough responsibilities to her companions, and not all of them came through on their tasks, to say the least.

In the end, I lost Jacob and Grunt on the final mission, and chose to blow up the Reaper technology against the Elusive Man’s wishes. Miranda also abandoned me because I lost her loyalty when I chose Jack’s side over hers in an argument. I didn’t care enough about her to get it back, and as a result, I found her office chair empty after the credits finished rolling. Bitch.

So, how was this a good ending? Well, in the end I got to tell the Elusive Man to stuff it, which is something I’d been waiting to do ever since he told me why he brought me back to life. Not only that, I also managed to get his two Cerberus stooges off my ship. Grunt, AKA Wrex-lite, who proved far less superior than his tank-bred origins boasted was never one of my favorite teammates in this game anyway, so I can’t say I was all that disappointed to lose him. Sadly, however, the one companion I really can’t stand is still alive and well, taking up space in my cargo hold and being a precious waste of oxygen. Oh well, guess you can’t win them all.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,348 other followers