Archive for February 23rd, 2010

h1

I Make A Terrible “Bad Guy”

February 23, 2010

“I’m definitely gonna play the new one as a badass. I was way too nice in the first one.”

A friend of mine said those words to me about Mass Effect 2 around a month ago before the game came out, and they resonate with me still. Looking back at my playthroughs of the game, it’s made me realize that I’ve also been way too nice. I always choose the “good” path, the morally-just decisions, the amiable dialogue choices that don’t end up hurting anyone’s precious feelings. So predictable.

But dammit, I can be a badass too, I know I can.

"Ever heard of parents? We have parents who love us. You don't, 'cause you're an orphan!" -- example of the levels of dickery I was aiming for.

Driven by my new task at hand, I started a second playthrough of Mass Effect 2, determined to be the douche-iest, most evil, churlish and insensitive Shepard there ever was. I lasted about ten minutes before I came to a dialogue choice that just made me go, “What? But that’s so mean! I can’t say that!” Dammit, being bad is hard and I just can’t do it. The longer I tried, the more I felt like I was just screwing around, not actually playing the game. So much for being a renegade.

Anyway, this experience also made me realize how my disposition has affected my faction choices when it comes to my online gaming. Whether or not a faction is “good” or “evil” can often be subjective, but generally speaking, whenever a faction choice presents itself…

World of Warcraft – Alliance

Warhammer – Order

Aion - Elyos

Allods Online – League

Holy crap! I really am just that damned predictable! The only exception I can think of is my plan to play on the Sith Empire side when Star Wars: The Old Republic comes out, but even then, can you say, “Light-side Bounty Hunter?!”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,304 other followers