h1

Another STO Crew Addition

February 24, 2010

Okay, I know I’m not supposed to be playing that much Star Trek Online while waiting for my better half to catch up, but fiddling with my Bridge Officer skills doesn’t count as breaking our leveling pact, so I’m still allowed to do that.

The last time I got to really play the game, I had made some changes to my weapons loadout. As a result, I welcomed another newly-commissioned BO to my crew to serve as backup Tactical Officer, hence this short bio. Ugh, someone really needs to come in and school me on the Ferengi ways, because Mr. MMO Gamer Chick believes they were the lamest Star Trek villains and I got little more out of him than that they’re “evil, scheming capitalists.” I still don’t know much about his race, but I’ll try my best. Nothing crazy here!

Erpax

Erpax hails from a long line of successful merchants and traders, and grew up in a fairly affluent environment. Like all good Ferengi children, he familiarized himself with the Rules of Acquisition at a young age,  but deep down in his heart he always knew there was something different about him. Despite his father’s teachings and his hopes for his son to follow in his footsteps, Erpax had no desire to lead a life constantly in pursuit of material wealth. Instead, his interests laid in space exploration. Tired of feeling like there was something wrong with him, Erpax ran away from home one day and decided to follow his dream, even if it meant being shunned by his family. He finally achieved happiness by joining Starfleet, and found his calling as a valuable Tactical Officer on T’Adroma’s crew aboard the U.S.S. Savannah. Erpax walks around with a perpetual scowl on his face, but those close to the young Ferengi know it’s not a sign of disdain, but is instead evidence of his fierce determinism to make it on his own.

The rest of my crew can be seen here and here.

10 comments

  1. Very, very, very few Ferengi can be trusted! Although, your back story does the necessary job of setting him up as different from others of his race. I still find it hard to believe, lol. Although, Ferengis are a fictional race to begin with…


  2. I agree, after reading the background on Ferengi, I was struggling to figure out a way to make it believable that I’ve got a good one on my crew. There’s just no way out of making him sound cliched. Oh well ,he could be just another Nog! :P


    • ha, you already know everything I was going to say about the Ferengi – the Rules of Acquisition, and Nog. They’re not really villains, persay – just scheming merchants. I don’t want to play one, but I was also thinking about adding one as a bridge officer.


      • memory-alpha.org helped me out a lot on that :P

        And if you wanted to play one, you would have to buy it wouldn’t you, as that’s one of the races in the c-store?


  3. It is one of the races in the C-Store – and thanks to that cool survey Cryptic is running, I could buy the race three times over! But, I don’t really like them. I like them as… supporting characters, not the main thing.


    • Yeah, I didn’t realize you had updated your blog with that link to the survey, so thanks! Points for me, yay!


  4. So great a backstory that is for your Frengi Officer!!!

    I got a Ferengi send to me as BO, a tactical one also. I’m a tactical Captain and needed a backup Tactical to my one main tactical officer.

    I just couldn’t quite picture a Ferengi as my Tactical Officer for a whole number of reasons.

    So i had him train off his skill and fired him!


    • LOL after what I wrote about him I don’t know if I can fire my Ferengi officer ever…coming up with these backstories for my crew is so going to bite me in the ass. :P


  5. Lmao, What a blastphemous little Ferengi! He must not have known he was following Rule #6 Never Let Family Stand In The Way of an Opportunity! His father would be secretly proud, but i like the fact he’s a black ferengi, mwahahha. Also, Deep Space Nine episodes have some of the best Ferengi content, look no further than Quark to understand everything there is to know about Ferengi.


    • Haha, thanks for tips and that bit of info on Rule #6 ;-)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,417 other followers