Archive for March 5th, 2010

h1

Greatest Fight Music Ever?

March 5, 2010

You know, one thing that doesn’t get talked about much is the music of Star Trek Online. Granted, much of what you hear is from the movies and the shows, but it’s a big deal to a Star Trek fan like my husband who was once again raving to me about how much he was enjoying the game’s epic soundtrack. He started telling me about how the best music in STO is always from the original series and proceeded to hum this tune: “DUN dun DUN dun, DUN dun DUN dun…duh-de-dah! Duh-dah-de-dah!”

I was like: “What the hell is that?”

He goes: “You know, the music from one of the best fight scenes in the history of Star Trek.”

Me: “Never heard it in my life, and I don’t think I’ve ever heard that in game.”

Him: “Um, I’m pretty sure it’s there.”

What followed was another short lesson on Star Trek. In this one, my husband directed my attention to the following video. His summary of the scene: “Spock is in a rut, needs to return to Vulcan like a salmon going up river to mate with his betrothed, but she’s a bitch and wanted to be with this other guy. Kirk tags along to show support for his friend but somehow ends up getting tricked into fighting with him to the death.”

Two things I gathered from this video: 1) I can’t watch any fight scene from the 60′s without laughing my ass off, and 2) despite that, I have to admit the music is truly as epic as my husband claimed it to be.

Anyway, I don’t know who’s right here. The tune is so awesome and distinctive that I’d like to think it’s something I would remember from the hours of playtime I’ve racked up on STO, but it doesn’t ring a bell. My husband insists that it’s there, but he’s a Trekkie and I wouldn’t put it past him not to mistaken what he hears in the game with whatever theme music he’s humming in his head as he’s playing. I still don’t think it is, though it really, really, really should.

h1

The Force is With the Jedi Consular

March 5, 2010

Bioware is so awesome to give us weekly updates for Star Wars: The Old Republic. It’s just yet another reason I look forward to every Friday! Today’s update is a developer’s blog focusing on the Jedi Consular which you can check out here at the official site.

I thought this article was a great read, finally some love for the Republic. This is a welcoming change to the string of “Something, something dark side” updates we’ve been getting for the last couple of months. Also, props to Bioware for being able to make what at first seemed like a boring class now sound like pimpest one in the galaxy. Mastery of the Force! The constant struggle to resist the lure of darkness! The quest to find balance between wisdom and power! You would have to be dead inside not to appreciate the prospects.

I also really get a sense for the passion the developers have for this game, and the writer’s words remind me of why I was (and still am) so obsessed with Star Wars. I think my first Republic alt will be the Jedi Consular for sure.

h1

Mature is as Mature does

March 5, 2010

An interesting conversation in guild chat caught my eye as I was playing Age of Conan yesterday. One of our older members was telling someone else about how the M-rating of AoC actually made him feel more at home than in other MMOs. He attributed this feeling to the more rewarding connections he has been able to make with other players, due to what he believed was the game’s older and thus more mature community. “I don’t want to sound like I’m 85 years old here,” he said. “But it’s easier to relate to people in this game, and have mature conversations about serious things and not have it be all about the l33t, noob, WTF pwn and pew pew.”

I thought about what he was saying, and I don’t know…are people actually more mature in mature games? He’s probably right about the older community part though. Sure, there will be a few teenagers who’ve suckered their grandmothers into buying them a M-rated game and the odd kid sneaking in some time on their dad’s account, but I think in general it’s safe to say a game like AoC has an older crowd. Yet, I think most people realize that older does not necessarily mean more mature. I’ve met 12-year-olds in MMOs in the past whose mannerisms can pass them for adults, as well as people in their 40s who still act like spoiled children. Age clearly does not determine maturity and just because older people play AoC doesn’t mean you’re not ever going to come across some childish behavior in-game.

Granted, the folks I have run into randomly in the world of AoC do tend to be more considerate and articulate, and hence easier to talk to, so in a way I can see where that guildie was coming from. The large number of positive experiences I’ve had with others so far is quite impressive actually, though maybe I’ve just been extremely lucky in that department. The people I’ve had the pleasure to group with have all been friendly, sensible, helpful. Global Chat, on the other hand…

Yes, yes…we all love the boobies.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,296 other followers