Archive for March 16th, 2010

h1

Did Someone Call For a Grey Warden?

March 16, 2010

This should be no surprise to any of my Xbox Live contacts, but all my free time today went towards playing Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening. I’d been looking forward to this, seeing how DA:O is easily one of  my favorite RPGs of all time. I clocked in at over 100 hours on my first playthrough of it (in part due to reading all the codex entries and just about every single scrap piece of note in the game), and even then I felt the fun ended way too soon. So yeah, as soon as I heard there was going to be an expansion, it was pretty much a done deal.

I’m hoping that everything I loved about the original — the characters, the conflicts, the rich settings, historical lore, fun combat, and of course, being able to make decisions that matter — will be just as well fleshed out in Awakening. I’m not too far through the expansion yet, but I’m confident that it will deliver on another epic story.

Getting started was super easy, since I chose to import my human noble warrior. At the end of DA:O, I had managed to muscle my way to the throne, making my character Adeleia Cousland the queen of Ferelden by marrying Alistair and ruling at his side. Like the trailers for the game indicated, my royal husband made an appearance early on in the game, but only stayed long enough to kiss me goodbye and wish me luck on my new adventures.

*Siiiiiiigh*…and here I’d been looking forward to spending more time with my favorite Bioware boyfriend, but it doesn’t look like that’s going to happen. Instead, in a stunning display of trust, my love Alistair decides to send me forth into the blighted lands with a sausage-fest party consisting of a wise-cracking mage who talks like a frat boy, a horny alcoholic dwarf, and the tall, dark handsome son of my former enemy. Oh love, what are you thinking? I hope he rules Ferelden with better judgment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,380 other followers