h1

The Big Ding

April 13, 2010

Something must be up this month, because I seem to be getting my characters to max level left and right. First it was Star Trek Online and now it’s Age of Conan.

Yep, after almost two months since my resub to the game, I finally reached level 80 with Kyela, my Priest of Mitra. I’m happy I made it, but I also have to say one thing. It sucks for me to have to admit this, but my journey from level 78-80 was THE WORST TIME I’VE HAD in AoC since coming back. It’s a little hard to believe, but it was like launch time all over again.

It’s made me realize that if there’s one more thing Funcom can do to improve AoC, it would have to be making the late parts of the game more solo-friendly. Don’t get me wrong, I like to group up as much as the next guy…if only there were other people to group up with! The reality is, however, AoC is still on the very cusp of making its comeback. It’s like I mentioned before in an earlier post: I have a hunch that the bulk of the in-game population is made up of two groups — the level capped veterans and the lowbies who are just starting out. I see evidence of this in the LFG channel. There’s a ton of activity in there for sure, but it’s mostly filled with calls for endgame raids like Kylliki or Vistrix and lower level instances like the Cistern or Main System. Folks like me who are stuck in the middle are left with a hard time finding others to do the group content at our level, since we’re drawing from a smaller pool of players. At level 78, I had more than a dozen group and dungeon quests in my journal, but no one to do them with. Since I had exhausted all the soloable quests by then, I had no choice but to grind out my last two levels.

It might be a lack of foresight on Funcom’s part but oh well, chalk it up to growing pains. The grind might have been unpleasant, but it was still bearable, made slightly better by the presence of daily quests and dungeons. Still, two levels equates to approximately 6.5 million experience points, and dailies or not, it was hell to grind. Also, nothing can beat the goodness of unique content, and to be honest, it’s the interesting quests and story lines that make this game so great. So while doing dailies may be acceptable, it’s nowhere near as rewarding. It’s possible that people playing now won’t find themselves in this predicament when they near the level cap though, because hopefully there will be more people playing then.

Still, the thing that REALLY made it excruciating was the lag. AoC got a pretty big patch a couple weeks ago, and it has really wreaked havoc with the game. Zones are littered with bugged mobs that just stand there and do nothing — they won’t attack you and you can’t attack them. Some players were also having issues with the group invite system. And the lag, the horrendous lag! I can deal with the grind, I can deal with bugged mobs and I can deal with glitchy interface features, but I can’t stand server lag that makes a game virtually unplayable. It was especially bad in the zone of Kheshatta tonight, so bad that I had to take my grind to the Common District in Old Tarantia instead, where at least I could fight the mobs without finding myself dead after a 1500 ms latency spike. Here’s hoping Funcom fixes these problems soon.

All in all, having a level 80 in this game is a good feeling. The final grind might have something to do with this, but for some reason, the big ding in AoC feels a lot more rewarding than getting max level in other MMOs I have played.

9 comments

  1. Ouch. That pretty much ends any desire I had to resub to AOC. I’m sure the game is getting a LOT better, but they still have a ways to go it seems. The lag is the worst problem on there, followed by the grinding the last two levels. Still, it seems you enjoyed and really, thats all you can ask.


    • To be fair, the lag only seems to affect certain areas. Like I was saying, it was horrible in Kheshatta, but just fine in the Commons. The lag also only started happening because of a recent big patch though, and things are always out of whack after those in any game. Everything was fine beforehand though, so I have faith that things will be back to normal again in another week or so.


      • There looks to be a patch coming out tomorrow morning, maybe that’ll fix it all up?


  2. Grats on the 80!

    I hit level 20 last night…….. but am getting more and more tempted to jump on my 49 ranger and level him up a tad, specifically because Im near at a zone which had horrendous lag before I left so want to see the changes.

    Hmm whats a man to do.


    • The later zones are quite fun actually, and the area that they added since launch is really well done. Give it a shot, couldn’t hurt :)


  3. Grats on hitting the level cap!


  4. Grats! I’ve been thinking about trying this game to help support The Secret World.


  5. Grats! I have a level 30 something and 2 level 50’s (one was my free 50) i never felt any reason to go further even though I like the game I found not goal to reach for after i got my mount and then left off at 50 :P


  6. [...] Yes, games are meant to be played. But games are meant to be fun, too. And doing something like grinding from level 78 to 80 was most definitely NOT fun. I can’t help but think how an offline leveling system would have [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,348 other followers