Archive for May 25th, 2010

h1

Kodo Kouture

May 25, 2010

So, last night in World of Warcraft my Tauren got her Kodo and I just wanted to do a quick post to celebrate this milestone. I know, big whooping deal right? Yes, I realize this achievement would mean a lot more if we didn’t get our first mounts at level 20 now.

Though that change has been in-game for a while, for someone who has been around since the Vanilla WoW days I still find it a little hard to wrap my head around it, especially since I left the game not long after it was implemented. I guess I can’t complain; this is going to shave hours off travel time in the long run, and I can only rejoice. This should help make traversing the Barrens a lot less painful now.

In any case, this is still cause for a celebration because I’m excited that for the first time ever, I have a Horde mount.

h1

“It’s-a me, Mario!”

May 25, 2010

We had a nice long weekend up here with the celebration of Victoria Day. Earlier tonight, I went over to my brother’s place to check out this new game he said his roommate just bought for his Wii. The game turned out to be Super Mario Galaxy 2.

Galaxy 2: Jump! Twist! Put on that bee costume! Here we goooooo!

Now, I’m no stranger to the Wii. My husband and I own one ourselves (though I mainly use it for Wii Fit games and Wii Sports Resort) and I’ve played a bit of Galaxy 1. The point is, I know my way around a Wii remote and nunchuk, but even then I found Super Mario Galaxy 2 extremely challenging! Don’t get me wrong, I had a lot of fun in those few hours I spent with the game. I can’t recall the last time I’ve yelled “WHAT THE CRAP!”, “Wow, really?!” or “NOooOOoooOOoo!” so many times at a television screen…but in a good way (come on, I can’t be the only one who does that).

It is amazing to see how far video games have come. Every year, something is guaranteed to blow me away with its technological advancements and I’ve come to appreciate and even expect that. Still, something tugged at my heart while experiencing SMG2’s visuals and astonishing “physics”. Entertaining as it was, for some reason it also made me miss my Nintendo 64. After all, that was where our favorite Italian plumber made his 3D debut, even though he’s been around since the early 80’s and I still remember the old Game Boy games. I grew up with Mario and his Goomba stomping adventures pretty much, but around the time the N64 came out was when I started really getting into video games and stopped seeing them as just a fad.

Mario 64: Good times

Back then, Super Mario 64 presented its own brand of challenges, but it was intuitive and straightforward. Nothing compared to this running-upside-down, waving-my-arms-around-like-a-mad-woman kinda thing. Fun as hell, but like I said, some of the later stages of SMG2 are pretty difficult. I doubt my preteen self would have had the patience or coordination to handle it, but with technology moving forward, we can only expect games to become increasingly complex and have higher proficiency requirements. This isn’t a bad thing though, and I don’t want to make this post sound like I’m an old geezer lamenting for the good old days, but I am amazed sometimes when I think about how even the “kiddie” games like Mario are so much more complicated now than they were just a mere decade ago.

Aside from getting pissed off at myself for making many dumb mistakes (like stupidly stomp-jumping to my death when I actually meant to leap to another platform) there’s not much else to complain about. Galaxy 2 delivers a great gaming experience, and got my heart rate going tonight…again, in a good way!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers