Archive for June 1st, 2010

h1

A Weekend Of iPads, Breakdowns and Moose

June 1, 2010

Okay, so, um…a few days ago I joined the evil Apple cult and bought an iPad for my husband (it just came out Friday here!). I’d been thinking about getting it for him for a while, ever since I realized I’d been a pretty crappy wife this past year. Last Christmas was a crazy time and so I never got him a real present. I didn’t give him anything for Valentine’s Day either (well, other than the obvious thing) and so I wanted to make up for all that, and with our anniversary and his birthday that’s also coming up it also gave me a reason to surprise him with something BIG…but that’s it for him this year, my bank account is crying!

My husband is by no means an Apple geek, but he does love new gadgets. What also makes the iPad a perfect gift for him is that he spends an appalling amount of time traveling for his work. I liked the idea of giving him a light, slim device with a nice big screen he could easily whip out anytime while idling in an airport terminal, or while on a plane or train to watch movies, read ebooks, or play games.

It also came in handy this weekend on our vacation up to the north. He certainly wasted no time downloading apps — lots of games and books for the daylight hours lounging by the hotel pool (I got a sunburn on my shoulders, ouchies), and for the night time, this awesome app called Star Walk. We spent hours on our balcony holding his new toy up to the starry sky, watching a live representation of what we were seeing displayed on the screen, which followed along with our movements. Most impressive app I’ve seen so far, and definitely more effective out in the rural country side, where there’s hardly any light pollution.

My husband also managed to find himself an MMO game, called Pocket Legends. Okaaaay, that’s just way too much. I don’t think I will ever play an MMO on an iPad…

All in all, it was a nice relaxing weekend, except we ran out of gas on the way back home, and broke down on the parkway right near an exit ramp (how embarrassing). There was also this big bag of garbage lying in the middle of the highway nearby which had been reported to the police, so there just so happened to be a couple of cops nearby to assist us (how serendipitous!) One of them actually offered to take me in his cruiser to the nearest gas station to get some gas (how exciting!)

I’m sure my hubby also found the games on his iPad to be a great distraction while sitting by the side of the road waiting for me to get back. Ah, technology, what a wonderful thing you are. Obviously, I thought getting to ride in a cop car was way more fun. I got to sit in the front because the officer said the backseat was for perps only (in any case, it was taken up by the big stinking bag of garbage at the time).

Anyway, because post-weekend blogging is always more personal for me, I leave you with this interesting bit of Canadian wilderness we saw by the side of the road while on our way north:

I hope everyone had a pleasant weekend (and Memorial Day, for our neighbors to the south).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers