Archive for June 5th, 2010

h1

Guild Wars – Initial Thoughts, Coming At Ya

June 5, 2010

For the last few days I’ve been stumbling around the world of Guild Wars, discovering the game and learning as I go along. I made an Elementalist by the name of Siennis Wilder, and started her off in the Prophecies campaign because I believe that if you’re new to something, the beginning is always the best place to start.

I’ve made it out of the starting area now (even though I don’t think I really meant to at the time) and I’ve had my first taste of combat with my henchmen. I’m using fire as my element, so I thought getting a more defensive secondary profession might be a good idea and went with Monk. More thoughts are likely to be forthcoming, but for now, I have these to share:

1. I had some initial problems getting into the game (physically, not emotionally). The login screen would freeze up before I could even type in my password. I thought it was an issue with my video card or technical specs, and started looking up solutions for the problem. Turns out, it was just my computer overheating. It’s summer, and I have a fan in the room now. I switched it on, and voila! the game runs like a charm. That was easy.

2. I was advised ahead of time that character customization is a little lacking in GW. I agree, it’s not the best…but it’s adequate. What I found a little distracting though, are the ridiculous boots my Elementalist starts off with. I used to work in a corporate office, spending hours upon hours in my pumps. Sometimes after a long day, even the most comfortable shoes made me feel like lobbing off my feet, so there’s just something very amusing to me about a character running around in a forest fighting in 3-inch heels (I’m telling you, that’s a broken ankle just waiting to happen).

3. The infamous “no jumping” thing isn’t a deal-breaker for me, though it is going to take some getting used to. Jumping around has sort of become a bad habit of mine. I played a feral druid in World of Warcraft, and I’ll openly admit that I’m one of those annoying cats you want to bitchslap back to last century because they can’t seem to keep all four paws on the ground for more than 5 seconds. There’s just something about being a quadruped that makes me want to jump all the time…I can’t really understand it myself. Falling to your death is never fun though, so I can rejoice the fact that it’ll never happen to me in GW at least.

4. It’s pretty. Very pretty. For a game that’s several years old, I’m quite impressed. I’m also loving some of the creature models. The first time I saw a Devourer, I thought to myself, “Wow, that’s an interesting take on your usual scorpion mob.” Anyway, the screenshots I take don’t do this game justice, and so far I can’t seem to figure out how to improve the quality of them so that they would more closely reflect what I see in the game.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,298 other followers