h1

Nintendo, I Salute You

June 17, 2010

As E3 2010 wraps up, I look back at the last few days and I must say, there were a lot of awesome things this year. The new “Hope” trailer for Star Wars: The Old Republic blew me away of course, and I was also impressed with what I saw from games like Fallout: New Vegas, Fable III, and The Force Unleashed II. It’s going to be a great year for gaming.

At the end of the day though, it was Nintendo that really dazzled me. At first, I was surprised by this because I’ve largely been oblivious to everything Nintendo has done in the last few years. The last time I touched my DS, I think I was still in college. We also have a Wii in the house, but my husband is the only one who uses it for the Wii Fit. In general, Nintendo’s abundance of games tend to be targeted at a younger audience, which is why I think I haven’t been paying much attention. But there’s a kid in all of us, isn’t there? And I just realized mine is going coo coo for some of the things they revealed at E3.

As well, never underestimate the power of nostalgia. From Tron to Kirby to Donkey Kong, just hearing some of these names brings back fond memories that make me smile. A few things I’m especially looking forward to:

GoldenEye 007

Holy crap, holy crap, holy crap. Talk about nostalgia, no other shooter has brought me hours of joy like the original N64 title did. When we were kids, my brother and I would hold multiplayer parties with this game in our basement and invite all our friends. Sigh…good times. And now, they’re remaking this classic for the Wii!

I can’t wait to have another GoldenEye Party. Things will be different of course. Instead of being a group of loud, overactive, foul-mouthed preteens huddling around a Nintendo 64, we’ll be a group of loud, overactive, foul-mouthed twenty-somethings huddling around a Nintendo Wii.

Epic Mickey

Come on, it’s Mickey! And he’s going to be epic! Who can say no to that?

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Okay, I sort of lied when I said I haven’t been paying attention to Nintendo, because I have…but only when the news pertains to Legend of Zelda. I admit, I’m hooked on anything to do with this series, once again because of my childhood memories. Ocarina of Time remains one of my all-time favorite games and pretty much made me a fan of Zelda forever (and to this day, I still use “The Lost Woods” theme as my mobile ring tone).

Sadly, I still have yet to play Twilight Princess. When it first came out, I told myself that I was going to pick it up only when the hype goes away and the prices drop. How utterly, utterly naive of me. Almost 4 years now, and it still retails at the price of a new game. I guess some titles are just that good.

Nintendo 3DS

While I’m pretty sick of this new 3D fad, I gotta say the Nintendo 3DS intrigues me, if only because it boasts 3D effects without the need for any of those idiotic-looking glasses. The other thing is, Nintendogs is being developed for it.

Oh God. *Ducks head in shame* Damn you, Nintendo, you know I can’t resist those cute little fluffy puppies! Seeing as how the original Nintendogs was what made me buy a Nintendo DS in the first place, I think I’m screwed. What can I say, I’m a sucker for dogs, even when they’re fake and made out of pixels. I told a friend this and not surprisingly, he laughed at me. But then he also said that it’s okay, just as long as I won’t buy the Microsoft Kinect just for Kinectimals. Okay, that at least I can promise.

11 comments

  1. i think golden eye was the only game i ever played on n64. and god was it good.

    there was new vegas news? how did i miss that. gotta go look.


    • GoldenEye multiplayer…my favorite character was Boris, and my favorite level was the bunker. Good times.

      And I don’t know if you would call it news, but I was thinking of the Fallout NV demo and short interview where they showed some gameplay and talked about the companion wheel and the fact you can uber mod your weapons. It was only like 5 minutes, but what I saw looked really cool.


  2. as a 360 fanboy and a wii hater, e3 was so massively disappointing. ms was laughable, LAUGHABLE! donkey kong and goldeneye are the shit.

    remember when me, you and ali fired up 007 that afternoon and i fucking destroyed you two. good times.


    • If you’re talking about that party where I had a second hand n64 in 3rd year uni, in my own defense, I was probably so drunk at the time I was almost blind.

      And yeah, I was pretty disappointed with the MS stuff.


  3. YAY! I’m not alone in being tired of the damn 3D fad… gives me headaches.

    Anyway, I too think Nintendo pretty much stole the show and Twilight Princess is the very definition of awesome.. you have to pick it up or you’ll have to hand in your gamer card.


    • Yeah, I’m getting a little sick of seeing 3D this and 3D that, but I think it’s here to stay. Soon enough, we’ll all have 3D TVs in our houses.

      And Twilight Princess is definitely a game I want to play sooner rather than later. My brother’s roommate owns it, and I’ve seen him at it. Something tells me I’m going to sprain my arm with all that sword swinging :)


  4. In don’t even own a Wii, and I have to say Nintendo certainly “won” out of the three press conferences in my mind.

    Sony and Microsoft: “hey look, we are coming out with technology pretty similar to what Nintendo kicked our asses with a few years ago. Sweet huh?”

    Nintendo: “3D, no glasses needed. And more exclusives than you can shake a stick at. Grab a stick, try it…I promise it won’t budge.””

    Penny arcade nailed it (as usual):

    http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2010/6/16/


    • Yeah, that penny arcade strip is gold. Honestly, I’m surprised it took both Sony and MS so long to come up with a motion gadget…it’s a little too late, imo, when the Wii has already dominated this area for the last few years.

      I wonder what their new 3D-no-glasses-required 3DS will be like…the footage and still pictures probably don’t do the effect justice.


  5. Meh. I’m not a very big fan of Nintendo I have to say. I don’t know why, I guess I’m just not their target audience. I quite liked my DS when I got it but I barely play it now and I’m totally not into the 3D fad either.

    Still, can’t help but admire them for the way they market and produce their games! They’re definitely onto something even if it’s not for me.


    • That’s how I viewed Nintendo for the most part as well, until this year where they surprised me with all these exclusives and throw backs to the past.

      I’m pretty meh about 3D and I haven’t touched my DS in years either, but I have to give prop to Nintendo for what they’ve done with the 3DS. They always seem to be a step ahead of their competition.


  6. [...] MMOGamerChick is digging Nintendo. [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,380 other followers