h1

Red Dead Shenanigans

June 25, 2010

I guess I haven’t mentioned it on my blog yet, but I’m currently playing Red Dead Redemption on the Xbox 360. I was going to wait to borrow it from my brother, but he was taking a really long time to finish and with everyone I know raving about the game, I just couldn’t wait. So last week, I traded in Alan Wake for it.

Anyway, I met up with my brother earlier this week, and we started trading RDR stories. Before I go on, I just want to mention that my brother is actually a really sweet guy in real life, but he can be a right bastard when it comes to video games. Games like Fallout 3 and RDR appeal to him a lot, because it gives him the chance to do these messed up things. So he asked me the other day if I’d had the chance to lasso and hogtie people yet. I said, “Sure.” He then asked if I’ve tried dragging tied up prisoners behind my horse. I was like, “Yeah, there’s even a statistic in-game that tracks it, but it’s not like something I relish in.” In fact, I’ve been playing pretty conservatively, doing things quick and clean, avoiding trouble with the authorities if I can help it. My John Marston’s a gentleman; he does some things because he has to, and he’ll put a bullet in the head of anyone who wrongs him…but at least he’s polite about it.

My brother, on the other hand, not so much. He went on to tell me how he lassoed and dragged this one bandit a few miles out of town, hogtied him and then placed him in the middle of the railroad tracks. He then sat back and waited patiently for the train. “Well, no doubt the scumbag had it coming,” I said, “but isn’t that just a tad sadistic?”

But apparently, that wasn’t it. “For some reason, there was this nun walking down the road,” my brother told me with glee. “She stopped to check him out. Then something must have bugged or something, because she just stood there with him on the railroad tracks. When the train came, the nun and the bandit both exploded in this huge cloud of red mist!”

Granted, I probably don’t experiment as much as I should when it comes to these sandbox-y type games, but seriously, sometimes I can’t believe I’m related to this guy. Feel free to share your RDR shenanigans if you have any. While I’m not inclined to get into too much craziness myself, it always impresses me to hear how much freedom and flexibility this game allows.

18 comments

  1. if this were coming out for pc i would be so all over this game.


    • No, unfortunately not available for PC at this time, otherwise I would have bought that version too :P


  2. It is still not out for the PC. :) P.S. if you want to play a strategic fairy tale (!), King’s Bounty + AddOn are on Steam for 8 bucks.

    I do not know what is wrong with YOU, but your brother seems to be a great person to adventure with. :)


    • My brother is hilarious…he’ll go out of his way to find ways to be a dick even in games which don’t usually allow for that. I still remember watching him play Assassin’s Creed 2 where you were supposed to beat up a bunch of guys and steal their money…but the game didn’t allow you to kill them. You were able to pick the NPCs up afterward though, while they were still writhing and groaning on the ground. He did so, and then carried them one by one over to a tall bridge and proceeded to chuck them all over the side. Real classy, bro, real classy…


  3. As much as I try to make my Marston a gentleman, sometimes I can’t help but torment people who deserve it… like the bastards I catch abusing prostitutes outside the saloons. I’ve hogtied one and dragged him to the middle of a town, cut him loose, only to shoot him in the foot moments later.

    I haven’t gone as far as dragging them around behind my horse or dumping them on train tracks yet… maybe I should try it later. :p


    • I guess I’m just too practical because I usually just settle for blowing their heads off. Though, I did one time lasso and drag a horse thief back to the owner of the stolen horse. It was pretty funny to watch the owner kick the crap out of him before I put him out of his misery :P


      • Oh, I’ve done that to horse thieves too…a lot, actually. Now that I think about it, it’s kind of funny how my Marston always seems to stumble upon horse thieves whenever he strolls into Armadillo. They never learn, do they? :p


  4. Hmm… definitely need to check out RDR sometime soon. Y’know, reading this blog is gonna be bad for my wallet :D You make me want to play too many computer games!! :D


    • Heh heh, so many good games out there! That’s why when it comes to console games I usually just borrow from my brother or friends when they’re done, wait for sales, buy used, or trade my old games in for new ones.


  5. haha, you need to pull off your brother’s awesomeness for one of the achievements.


    • I just went to look at the achievement list…damn, that’s dastardly! :P


  6. Great game indeed! I’m enjoying the heck out of it on the PS3.


  7. That’s an excellent story. Have to say, though, that I played through exactly as you have been. I actually appreciate that I can play through a GTA-like game without having to be a colossal jerk.


    • Yeah, I think I was a big enough jerk in GTA…now I actually want to be a decent guy for a change!


  8. Good article, I need it. Thanks


  9. For some reason I can never bring myself to play through these games as anything other than the “good guy”, at least during the story mode. I popped into a private multiplayer game in RDR and slaughtered townies constantly until the Marshalls got to me.


    • Usually, a character’s story will inspire me to act a certain way. John Marston came off as an honorable man to me, so I played his character accordingly. At the VERY end of the game though, I wasn’t so nice because it was a whole different case entirely. I know you’ve finished the game, so you know what I’m talking about :P


      • I do know what you’re talking about, and yeah I was a bit rougher in the Act 3 part of the game too.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,304 other followers