h1

Another One For The Backlog (Curse You, Steam, Curse You!)

June 26, 2010

With my busy schedule and an impending move on the horizon (not to mention the backlog of games I still have yet to play), I really, really shouldn’t have been checking out Steam’s Perils of Summer Sale. Curiosity got the better of me though, and I went to take a look, promising myself that I won’t get anything.  But that was before I saw The Witcher Enhanced Edition for sale for $6 and change, and well, I just couldn’t help myself.

This is one of those RPGs I’ve always wanted to play, but never got the chance. I have no idea when I’ll be able to get to this but I figured it couldn’t hurt grabbing it at this awesome price (I found it interesting that Victor also went through a similar thought process when that game caught his eye, I guess great minds think alike!) just to have it now and decide when to play later. Also, the development of The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings has also been on my radar screen ever since fall of last year, so getting the first installment out of the way is definitely on my to-do list (whenever that may be).

14 comments

  1. Great minds think alike indeed. :)

    I’m still at 12% though. Sigh…


    • I’m getting pretty slow speeds too, no doubt from the thousands of gamers hammering the Steam servers taking advantage of their summer sale. It doesn’t matter though, like I said, I’m not in any hurry to play. You’ll probably finish before I even start, so looking forward to seeing what you think!


  2. I’m not really interested in the witcher. Steam is effing taking over though, isn’t it?


    • Yes…they get me every single time they have one of their sales.


  3. I’m right there with you on The Witcher. I couldn’t justify the purchase before, but $6 was enough to overcome all my arguments.


    • Yeah, it was an excellent price, thought I would buy it even though I won’t be playing it right away.


  4. Have you heard anything definite about your move?


  5. I couldn’t play it due to the wonky combat controls. :(

    Same thing with DDO. It sucks being an old fart set in her ways sometimes. :p


    • You’re not the first person I’ve seen who has expressed frustration over the controls…now I’m worried. I hope I’ll be able to deal with them.


  6. Steam got me with this deal too, what’s worse is I already own the game on disc but I picked up the Steam copy so I wouldn’t have to go through all of the patching manually anymore.


    • I’m still a little iffy on getting MMOs off Steam, but there’s no contest when it comes to single player games. I love it.


  7. Awesome choice! The Witcher is easily the best singleplayer RPG since Baldur’s Gate 2. And the enhanced edition patch ensured that most of its flaws (English translation, loading times, NPC repetition, lack of movement during dialogue, etc.) were either removed or diminished.

    The combat controls do take a bit of getting used to, because spamming mouse clicks will result in 0 combat moves. You need to time attacks, which takes a few minutes of getting used to and isn’t a bother at all anymore past that point. Otherwise the controls are industry-standard, so for an MMO comparison: Fallen Earth’s controls take a lot more getting used to than The Witcher’s.

    I actually own both the regular and enhanced editions of The Witcher, because it’s just that good. CDProjekt deserve all the funding they can get to make an even better sequel.


    • I’m glad to hear that! I wasn’t planning on getting into it for a while yet, but hearing the praise from people who’ve played it has made me consider starting it a bit sooner. Bumping it up on the priority list, so to speak :P



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,296 other followers