h1

Road To Rivendell

June 28, 2010

Summer days usually mean less game time and more time outdoors, but this weekend, I stayed in the whole time. I didn’t have much of a choice, since I live in the heart of downtown Toronto and, well…anyone who’s been paying attention to the news would know that things have been pretty insane in my city for the last few days, not to mention that the detention center holding the 600+ people who were arrested is literally just down the street from my house, complete with protesters and riot police. Holy crap, was that tear gas?

Anyway, amidst the chaos and confusion, staying indoors and avoiding the G20 mayhem was for the best. It did make for quite a productive gaming weekend, though; I got many new levels for my Tauren warrior in World of Warcraft, I’m almost finished with Red Dead Redemption, and best of all, I finally made it to Rivendell in Lord of the Rings Online! And geez, I thought High King’s Crossing was impressive.

I definitely thought it was worth a post to detail my experience, seeing as how I’d been looking forward to this for a long time. Also, from reading around, I get the impression that reaching Rivendell is a milestone of sorts. Hell, even if it isn’t, I’m going to make it so.

Getting to the home city of the Elves was a harrowing experience in and of itself. Even though I was given a quest to meet Aragorn there, it became immediately clear that I was way under-level for the zone. The quest log advised traveling only during the day and sticking to the main roads, but I was nonetheless molested by all manner of hostile wildlife on my journey there. There was also a brief moment of panic where I lost my way (I’m directionally challenged in the most severe sense) but it was all worth it when I finally emerged from the forest to the view of the beautiful valley before me.

I made it! I made it! I made it!

The beauty of Rivendell is everything people said it was going to be and more. Seriously, at this point I’m really starting to contemplate a series of “photo travelogue” posts for this game, much like I did for Age of Conan, because with the rest of the Trollshaws, Misty Mountains and more still to come, somehow I don’t think the pretty surroundings are going to end here.

Speaking of which, there’s plenty more where that screenie came from, so you’re just going to have to bear with me, you poor, poor bastards.

I may be completely off-base here, but that’s the river Bruinen, I think?

The Bridge of Rivendell…

The Spire of Meeting…

The Last Homely House…

Again, I’m sure that there are many stories associated with these landmarks that are lost to me, but that’s not going to stop me from appreciating the significance behind Rivendell. The sights and sounds of this gorgeous city provided a much needed respite from all the craziness that was happening this weekend, and I was also pleasantly surprised to see the whole gang — Gandalf! Frodo! Bilbo! Boromir! Elrond! Sexy Aragorn! Turbine’s attention to detail continues to amaze me, and now I’m really glad I pushed myself so hard to get over the Lone-lands and North Downs hump.

This is the farthest I’ve ever gone in this game, and by all accounts things should start picking up from here on out. While I’ve been hopping in and out of different MMOs lately, I think it’s pretty obvious that LOTRO has become my main focus. I’m not going to deny that the idea of experiencing content I’ve never done before is a powerful draw for me, and being able to see new things is always good motivation to keep playing.

20 comments

  1. Congratulations. P.S. if you did not already, make some Captain/Hunter buddies that can call you to Angmar/Misty Mountains/Forochel in zero time if you want to switch. :)


    • I’m going to have to do that. Hmm, I believe Blue Kae is a hunter…oh Bryyyyyn! LOL


  2. It certainly does pick up from here, the Misty Mountains are good fun and it’s nice to see some of the sites from the Hobbit.

    Normally I tend to rush through MM as quickly as possible and head on up to Angmar in double quick time, but then I will be taking my 6th toon to Rivendell when my thief finally makes it out of the lone lands.


    • 6th toon! Holy crap, I feel like such a noob!


  3. I hate elves with a passion but Rivendell stil takes my breath away every single time. That wow feeling never went away. I made the journey at night the first time and level 45 elite trolls on the road did make for an interesting journey.


    • My first venture into Rivendell definitely ranks up there as one of those “first times” I wish I could relive over and over again. :P


  4. Congratulations! And you got some great screenshots. The scenery there is beautiful.


    • It really is…everywhere I’ve been so far after the Lone-lands and North Downs has been very beautiful.


  5. Grats! I think I will wait until this game goes F2P and then reinstall and see if i can get out of the lone lands.


    • Now that I’m past that stage, I can definitely say it’s worth it.


  6. Congratulations on reaching Rivendell! It really is a beautiful area and very much a milestone in the game, or at least used to be before the expansions. You still have some great moments ahead of you, the severe frozen beauty of Forochel, the grandeur of the Misty Mountains, and the vast depths of Moria.


    • See, now you’re just making me impatient :P It really is hard to pace myself in this game to take everything in, because otherwise I’d just want to level as quickly as possible to see these new places!


  7. Congratulations on the achievement. Sadly, Rivendell is as far as I ever made it in LotRO. Someday….


    • I’ll be sure to write about my post-Rivendell experiences in the hopes of inspiring you to do so then! :D


  8. Congo rats. It really is a milestone. Turbine outdid themselves with that vista as I do not know of a single person who has crested that hill and not paused to gawk in wonder. It is moments like that, shared moments, which make MMOs so wonderful.


    • Oh yes, gawk I did. Definitely one of my best moments in LOTRO, and in MMOs in general.


  9. I agree with you. Though my first moment of awe was swimming up the Brandywine (Iwas doing the limited pirate quest several years back) and seeing High King’s Crossing in Everswim, er, Evendim. I almost didn’t notice I was being attacked by a purple mob….


    • Yes, there are so many moments that make me go “Wow!” in this game…I wish I could blog about them all! :P


  10. If you like Rivendell, you will love Lothlorien! I’ll say no more, but it is truly breathtaking. :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,327 other followers