h1

Good Bye Azeroth, Hello Outland!

July 28, 2010

Stepping through the Dark Portal has never been so satisfying.

Okay, so what if it’s like my eighth or ninth World of Warcraft character to do so? This time it’s special. You see, Miakala is my first Horde character to claim that honor. With her, I finally got to experience the full glory of Azeroth. I got to do new quests and see the other side of Horde-favored areas like the Badlands, Swamp of Sorrows, and Desolace. More importantly, I got to explore places like the southern Barrens, Stonetalon Mountains and Thousand Needles before all these zones get their major overhauls with Cataclysm.

We all know WoW will never be the same once the expansion comes out, so it was fun to see things from the other faction’s point of view before all the changes can happen. I recommend anyone who hasn’t already done this to give it a shot. In some ways it was like playing the game for the first time all over again; not to mention, the process of leveling an alt is always going to be more enjoyable to me than endgame ever will be.

Still, I have a feeling my Tauren warrior will be the last character I take through the old world before Cataclysm. I know I always say that the journey is the best part, but God knows I don’t have the strength nor the bountiful love for this game to take another one through 1-60 again any time soon.

Good bye Azeroth, indeed. See you again after the face-lift.

So now that I’ve completed my goal to see the old world content through a Horde’s eyes before it’s altered forever, what’s next? Well, I’ve gotten this far already so I see no reason not to press on…and I like the idea of having my first ever level-capped Horde character. Screw paid-faction-changes, that’s cheating! The Terrific Tauren Two are going to do this the old fashioned way, so guess it’s time to clear out the old quest log and onwards to Thrallmar (which, I was pleasantly surprised to discover, is just like a parallel universe version of Honor Hold)!

Figures though, that the day I finally step foot in Outland, my fellow blogger and Silvermoon buddy Kaozz leaves it for Northrend with her Death Knight!

12 comments

  1. Gratz on hitting Outland! I know you are excited!

    It is nice to play the game through on both sides. Gives you a different perspective for sure.

    Thanks for the mention!


    • Thank you! Gonna try to catch up to you, but it’s probably not gonna happen until we’re both 80 :P


  2. Nice one, Im level 55 almost 56 on my Tauren Druid so will be hitting Outland pretty soon as well.

    As much as it pains me to say it I cant friggin wait to leave old Azeroth, nostalgia out the window the zones and quests are very dated with only a couple of Zones i dont mind visiting (STV,Tanaris and Ungoro) the rest are pretty much awful and barren of character when compared to even Outland zones nevermind WoTLK.

    Anyway good luck through the portal, best thing is replacing all those nice blues you have picked up with quest giver greens…. gotta love the brutal gear reset of TBC :)


    • The only thing that pisses me off about old world Azeroth is all the running around the quests make you do. I just can’t be bothered to do something that makes you go clear across the map to the other side of the world :P

      And yeah, the greens in Outland are insane. Glad to be ditching all my Azeroth stuff.


  3. Congratulations. :) I know what it is like to step that Portal on both factions, pretty cool.


    • Bah, it seems everyone has already leveled a Horde and Alliance both to cap. I don’t know why I stayed a one-faction player for so long!


      • Stick to Horde! Its where the cool kids play ;)


      • I just might! They seem to have more fun ;)


  4. Congrats on completing your goal. I’m glad that I squeezed everything out of Azeroth for both factions before the old world goes away. But I am looking forward to starting over at level 1 once all the amazing and new is added.


    • I’m excited about that too. I’ll be doing both Worgen and Goblin of course, now that I’m so keen on seeing both sides. Question is, which one first?


  5. Before that was a portal to the Outland, I and a friend of mine died a horrible death doing a kamikaze run through elite demons to get to it. We were convince it was a portal to someplace. We were correct, but about a year early (pre-BC). We ran through it, hit the wall behind it, and had aggroed about 20 elites . . .


    • LOL that’s hilarious, I remember those days! I think I tried to go through it myself, but didn’t do the kamikaze run like you guys did. I think we actually cleared out way there, took forever, and turned out to be a waste of time :P



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,348 other followers