h1

Return Of The Pup

August 7, 2010

You may have noticed that I didn’t post as much last week. That’s because I’ve had my hands full since Monday, having virtually no time to game at all while taking care of our new puppy:

We fell in love with him even before we got to meet him, when the breeder showed us pictures of the litter. And when we finally got to look at the puppies last weekend, he turned out to be the sweetest, most playful and affectionate of the bunch (Cavalier King Charles Spaniels are already an exceptionally friendly breed, so that’s saying something). We knew right then that he was the one for us.

Funny thing is, afterward the breeder told us she had given all the puppies nicknames to make identifying them easier. The males all had names like Maximus, Titus, and Spartacus…that is, except for our pup. Believe it or not, his nickname had been “Aragorn”, because she thought there was something “kingly” about him. Ah, did I mention we’re both big geeks and that my husband is a huuuuuuge Lord of the Rings fan? It was almost like a sign.

Never underestimate my ability to completely nerd up a post. While we loved the idea of our puppy having a LOTR name, “ARAAAGOOORN!” wasn’t something we wanted to be yelling out loud in a public place like a park or in front of our neighbors, so we decided to go with the Heir of Gondor’s more neutral-sounding alias instead, and named him Strider.

16 comments

  1. But no one will ever call him “Longshanks.” ;P


    • Geez, that guy has too many aliases! :P


  2. Well one, you say “we” but men do not fall in love with puppies. I’m sure mr. mmogamerchick would agree with me.

    2ndly you named him strider because thats more difficult for the neighbours to figure out? There was a time when strider was more well known than aragorn.

    3rdly come on now, own your geekyness. Be proud to name your dog aragorn.

    Finally I would have to say that that dog looks admittedly adorable.


    • 1. He disagrees with you. Mr. mmogamerchick is positively gushing over the puppy! :P

      2. We thought “Strider” was also an appropriate name for a spaniel. People who are in the know will think LOTR when they hear it, but they wouldn’t know for sure because strider is also a real word. Those who don’t know won’t think the name strange whereas Aragorn may make someone like my mother-in-law who doesn’t know a thing about geek or pop culture think WTF, not to mention the name wasn’t even pronounceable by the breeder’s vet.

      3. You’re totally right. We should have gone all the way and named him Elessar!


    • I’d have to disagree, I have two dogs and love them both quite a lot.


  3. Awww that’s the cutest puppy I’ve ever seen! :) And what’s wrong with saying Aragon in front of your neighbours? :) If I get a puppy I’m calling it Megatron, neighbours be damned :)


    • Actually, Megatron is an awesome name for a dog! I wish I had thought of that before!


  4. Strider is a good, strong name. Hopefully he has a nice gait to go with it!


    • He is growing nicely so far, gait and all. :D We’re going to the vet this evening to give him a check up.


  5. Aragorn wouldn’t work since I know a couple who named their kid that way. Try explaining to your neighbors you named the dog the same as his kid.


    • Aragorn as a kid’s name? Oh wow. Geek pride is one thing, but I don’t know if I would go as far as give my kid a LOTR name :P


  6. He is so cute! I love cuddly little puppies, I am so jealous ;)


    • Heh heh, yep, he’s the reason why I haven’t been online for a whole week :D


  7. He is ridiculously cute, and I’m a cat guy.


  8. I look forward to pictures of Strider with a half chewed shoe or shredded favorite blanket. ;)


  9. Cute pup!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,304 other followers