h1

Some Love For The Republic

August 13, 2010

A heavy update from Bioware today. First, the entry for the Jedi Knight, a class that needs no introduction, has been updated in the Holonet, and the two Advanced Classes of Guardian and Sentinel have been confirmed.

There’s an awesome new video added for the class as well, though admittedly I’m more excited by the quality of the combat and movement animations than I am by the Jedi Knight class. Gotta love how the cheeky little punting of the Bounty Hunter into the Sarlacc pit at the end there has already been dubbed the “Chuck Norris roundhouse kick.” Anyway, compared to some of the older class videos, it’s really amazing to see how the graphics and animations have evolved. That, in my opinion, is the most impressive part of the footage.

Not that the Jedi Knight class doesn’t look like it would be a hell lot of fun. Out of all the classes, however, I think it’s the least likely one I’ll play because all the others simply look so much more interesting, though I have no doubt they will be overwhelmingly popular at launch. Come to think of it, despite the iconic nature of the class, I haven’t personally met anyone so far who has said they will be rolling a Jedi Knight as their main when the game releases. But hey, maybe the new information and trailer might manage change a few minds.

Also, as a nice follow-up to the playable species revealed last week, the Inhabitants section has been updated with an entry on the Miraluka. *shudder* The idea of their vestigial eye sockets still creep me out no matter how many times I look at them.

As well, the newest installment of Blood of the Empire.

And look! Some droid love! He’s so cute…

31 comments

  1. Yay, more Blood of the Empire! It’s interesting to see more of the morality of our masterless Sith apprentice Teneb Kel. Interesting times. Also, it suxors that the sexy redskinned Exal Kresh has the rot.

    Also, am I the only one that finds if vaguely humorous that the Miraluka animation has the avatar turning to look behind her?


    • LOL that’s funny! Good catch there.

      And I’m a bit behind on BotE…need to catch up to see what the deal is.


  2. Im with you on the video, not excited about the class but enjoying what there is to see and hear.


    • I think I’m just not too interested in playing a force class in general.


  3. This is the first video I’ve seen in a while that’s gotten me excited about the game again. The animations have definitely improved, but the light saber hilts still bother me.


    • LOL, the “Pringles can” light saber hilts? :P To be honest, I think they’re big too, but someone had to point them out to me before I noticed.


      • Sadly Pringles can is about the right size. I’m pretty sure I read about that issue before I ever saw a video, so I never got the chance to see if I would notice or not. After all, once you see it, you can’t unsee it.


  4. Dunno, the animations still look really off to me. But, hey, I’m one person who, if push came to shove, would probably go with Jedi Knight. One of my favorite pen and paper RPG characters was Giln Heln.

    Imagine if a down-on-his-luck guy with the philosophy of Han Solo (“There’s no mystical force guiding my destiny…”) ends up in Jedi training mostly because they offered him free food. Yeah, that was Giln. At one point he went on a fast because he was sure they were spiking the food with drugs because there ain’t no way people were doing what he was seeing them do. :D

    The plan was he’d slowly come around and in the end be one of the most rock solid jedi one could find. We just never got that far.


    • That sounds like a great character! Heh heh, well, if you do end up playing jedi knight, I’ll be sure to hit you up for your opinion on the class.


  5. OK, I get the mysterious “‘sees’ with the Force” thing the Miraluka have going; but it is far more likely that they would have evolved eyes that only see infrared, rather than losing eyes altogether. Given that they are what they are, why would they constantly hide the upper part of their face? So as to not offend the sensibilities of the humans around them? That said, Marvel’s Daredevil has always intrigued me, with his Miraluka-esque situational awareness, so these guys are high on my list of probable races, if they are available as consulars.


    • Dang! I had “nerd-rant” and “/nerd-rant” brackets, and they disappeared. :/


      • I’ve done that before, too! Real HTML coding makes faux-meta-nerdy HTML coding difficult, if not impossible. Sadness.


    • Yeah, was thinking that myself. Though after Avatar I’ve given up hope movie makers will understand the basics of phylogeny.


      • LOL, I’ve learned to live with movies like Avatar :D I actually majored in bio and anthro in college with a focus on phylogenetic concepts, so I totally know what you mean!


    • “why would they constantly hide the upper part of their face? So as to not offend the sensibilities of the humans around them?”

      That occurred to me too actually, because admittedly it is a little disconcerting. I once actually saw a musician on the streets of Beijing without eye sockets, playing a flute. He was amazingly good.


  6. I really don’t like the companion.


    • I do, he’s like a little droid that’s more like a pet dog!


  7. My first choice for a character has always been a Jedi Knight, and a Jedi Consular for my gaming companion. Now I just have to decide whether I’m going tank or DPS!

    My first choice for race has also always been Miraluka, but my mind is changing now and I’m hoping that Twi’lek can be Jedi Knights.


    • The Sentinel is the DPS advanced class for the JK right? I like that with the dual wielding light sabers, I’ve always thought it was pretty ridiculous in the new movies but I have to admit it looks really cool in the game.


  8. I’m actually psyched about the Miraluka, that’ll be my first alt for sure. (Starting with Trooper, HE USED A SHANK AGAINST A SITH LORD)


    • And lived to tell about it, to boot.


    • Oh yeah, Mr. Balls-the-size-of-grape-fruits trooper from the Hope trailer! He’s my hero :P


  9. Really like the Jedi Knight trailer. The thing I dig about SWTOR hype is that BioWare actually show us gameplay footage. This makes the whole thing seem a lot more plausible and believable than if the devs just talk about their concepts. Oooh getting excited… can’t wait!


    • Not only that, I think it’s really cool to see game footage released bit by bit over time. With this new video you could see how much the movements and combat have improved, it really looks a lot smoother than what we’ve seen before in the Sith footage. :D


  10. I tend to agree, best thing about this video is the updated gfx. I could live with it as it is now, but i’m sure BW will keep tweaking it until release.
    I’m rolling a Trooper on this 1, but apart from the Smuggler, the Sith side seems to have a better story arc.


    • I agree with you, I think the Sith might have more interesting storylines, especially the Sith Inquisitor. I mean, I like being the good guy, but I think the choices would be more complicated on the Empire side. On the Republic side, the Smuggler is the one that catches my eye. Nice to know you’re not beholden to the Republic or the Jedi Order and all that :)


  11. It was a veeery pleasing update, I agree entirely about the graphics,particularly the movement.

    On the matter of the Jedi class, it’s iconic nature is exactly why I won’t be touching it as anything more than something to mess about on.

    I can see it being swamped with people who just love to jump on the SW bandwagon and it could end up being the huntard of the game.

    At least in the early days.


    • Good point, though I can see a lot of die-hard SW fans wanting to roll jedi knight just to live the Luke Skywalker experience :P But yeah, I tend to stay away from the classes I think will be over-represented, and I have a feeling JK will be one of those.


  12. That eye covering is sort of cool. Those models are looking really good.

    I thought the droid companion looked neat, I do hope to see more of what will be available soon.


    • I fell in love with the droid companion from playing the KOTOR games. You can’t get more iconic than a droid buddy, it’s like your own R2-D2 :)


  13. […] the unflagging GeeCee has written several nice summaries of the current state of SWTOR hype. Seriously, I read her blog and only her blog for […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers