h1

Attaché!

August 23, 2010

Since reactivating my sub for the Season 2 update,  I’ve set two goals for myself in Star Trek Online: 1) to reach the rank of Vice Admiral, and 2) grind Diplomatic XP at least to the rank of Attaché, at which point Ambassador Jiro will cease being a well-dressed useless waste of oxygen and actually start giving you some missions to do.

My idea of "leading with the olive branch" is poking you in the eye with it.

The problem is that there is no retroactive DXP for a Rear Admiral who has completed all the missions before the diplomatic system was added in. Even after completing every one of the handful of new diplomatic missions, I was still a ways away from being good enough in Jiro’s eyes. Doing exploration was my best bet. This way I could rake in the normal experience to level, as well as gain DXP if I’m lucky and come across missions whose objectives don’t require any combat.

This weekend I finally achieved the coveted Attaché rank (and I’m not too far away from Vice Admiral either), beginning my first step up the diplomacy ladder. The irony here, of course, is the thoroughly undiplomatic heartless bitch I had to let myself become to accomplish this, cherry picking my way through the missions to get the ones I want:

Some alien: Rear Admiral, Upper Half T’Androma, thank goodness you’re here! We need help fighting off the rebels that have disabled and taken over our ship! We’re dying here and–
T’Androma: *hits the button to warp to sector space*

Starfleet dude: We’ve detected some anomalies on the surface of the planet. Could mean a treasure trove of precious metals.
T’Androma: Brilliant, let’s strip the place.
Starfleet dude: Looks like the Borg have also arrived to check things out. We may have some resistance.
T’Androma: So I’ll have to fight them?
Starfleet dude: Um, yah.
T’Adnroma: *hits the button to warp to sector space*

Science Officer: I detect some interesting bio signs. We should go and do some boring old scans of boring old plants.
T’Androma: Helloooooooo!

After a few days of this, I received my rewards: Attaché title, diplomatic star cluster missions unlocked and Ambassador Jiro’s private phone number. Sigh, looks like it’s going to be a loooong way to Federation Ambassador.  Once I make Vice Admiral I think I’m going to lay off STO and focus my attentions on Guild Wars instead.

20 comments

  1. I have to say, you don’t make diplomacy sound very fun. At least the way you had to go about it since you had no retroactive xp. Are a lot of people in the same boat with that problem?


    • Yes, if I had been starting with a new character I would have gained the DXP as I was leveling. But with no retroactive awarding of DXP, I don’t believe there’s any other choice but to grind away. And no, it’s not that fun. I don’t know if I have it in me to keep climbing up the ranks, it might be better just to wait until Cryptic adds more diplo quests in the future.


      • I have to agree, the diplo missions that they released were fun, but the grind required to advance after that is not. It would be slightly better if you could set some kind of flag to limit what kind of missions you were eligible for when doing exploration, but I also thing that 10 DXP for a mission is too low.

        I have an engineer at the LtC rank, so I’m curious how it will feel leveling up with the system in place.


      • It would be a lot better, I’d imagine. I think one could get to Attache rank relatively early, since even the patrol missions will sometimes include non combat objectives.


  2. Congrats on enduring the grind. I wonder how much different it would feel on a new character instead.

    Um, if you go to Guild Wars, I might have to poke my head in that game again. Maybe you should join the rest of us in EQ2 Extended some time. As if you don’t have enough games to play. :)


    • Yeah, after I get the last level I need to hit Vice Admiral, I’m going to focus less on STO and more on GW. I’m looking forward to play the Nightfall campaign.

      And I had no idea you were playing EQ2X. I’ll look you up if I get on.


  3. Ah, I can’t wait to get back to Rowan and her crew.


    • Looking forward to playing with you again soon!


  4. Gratz on the title. I tried the game for a few the other day but it sounds like a lot to learn with the diplomacy stuff. I downloaded the trial on steam and played for maybe 10 min or so. I’ll have to set some time aside for it to get more of a feel for it.

    Guild Wars is a lot of fun. I tend to get bored after awhile because it’s so linear and instanced. I do love it though and probably will always play. The best FTP model out IMO.


    • My favorite part of STO is definitely the space combat, so I hope you were able to experience some of that :D It gets a lot better too as you gain ranks and you get a lot more skills and more enemy abilities to deal with. I was excited about diplomacy too, because it’s like one of those side games I love so much in MMOs :)

      And I know what you mean about Guild Wars. I like having the game around to play whenever I feel like it, but it’s not a game I can sit and play for hours on end.


  5. Absolutely hilarious, as always! I’m glad you’re (currently) back to playing STO – your posts on the game are always pure gold.

    Yeah, it’s a shame that high-ranked characters didn’t get any sort of DXP bonus. I’ve been enjoying getting the diplomacy missions as I level, but it’d be damn annoying to do the first ~16 missions without Jiro (that waste of oxygen) in the same star cluster.


    • I’m surprised there wasn’t more outcry about the lack of retroactive DXP. I guess people were just happy that Cryptic even added a diplomatic system at all, that or STO forum dwellers are starting to mellow out :P


  6. Hehe, this post made me chuckle :P I’ve just started STO and not sure how I feel about it. I mean, its not terrible or anything just seems pretty unexciting. Very average so far. Maybe my opinions will change and it will get more interesting as I play more.


    • Ah, sorry to hear you’re not enjoying it as much as you thought, but it doesn’t sound like you’re hating it either, so that’s good :D I’ll tell you that I didn’t really start to get into STO until I got my first ship after the Miranda. Things started picking up a little after that. And of course, I had a lot of fellow bloggers to play with and talk about the game. You should join our fleet!


  7. It seems like there should be an easier way to get him to give you his phone number ;-)


  8. Yeah your STO blog coverage is always gold for postings.

    I’m glad that Cryptic made improvement that now added the Diplomatic system in and a way to gain a form of diplomatic XP leveling up on missions. Yet in a way having played in the beginning and already having a high lvl character I’ll probably feel like allot of those players in the same boat getting nothing for the time put in getting to the higher level. I’m not that excited returning to STO and having to grind diplomatic XP even though i can enjoy some form of diplomacy. I’ll say no to having to start from the beginning for a grind.


    • Yeah I reached Vice Admiral tonight, and am giving the diplomacy a break. At least when I was grinding diplo xp by doing exploration missions I was also gaining regular xp to level. Now it’ll be just a pure grind, and I don’t think I’ll be able to take it. This means a break from STO again for me very soon, I think.


  9. I hope to blast your petaQ butt out in the cold of space.

    Qapla!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers