h1

STO: No One Left Out In The Cold

September 6, 2010

I really felt Cryptic had another winner on their hands this weekend when I did “Out in the Cold”, the new feature weekly Star Trek Online episode that debuted Saturday. As usual, I’ll direct your attention towards our Chief Editor Tipa’s Federation report for a more detailed account of the mission, but I also echo her thoughts that STO may finally be reaching its potential. Not to mention what a pleasant change it was to log in that afternoon to find fleet chat alive with animated conversation and excitement over the new episode, and to see some new faces (or names, rather?) and some returning ones as well.

From what I gather, the overall reception from the playerbase has been generally positive. I didn’t think anything could top the visual feast I received last week the moment I stepped foot on Defera for “Cold Call”, but I was wrong. But seriously, can anything truly prepare you for a comet tail in your face?

I wanna name her Dottie.

For a second there, scenes from Armageddon actually flashed before my eyes and I half expected Bruce Willis to come over the com to yell at me, “We’ve got a hole to dig up here!” but no. Instead, T’Androma and crew were thrown into a space battle amidst the gas and debris in the giant moving rock’s wake.

That’s beaucoup points for presentation.

Ka boom with a view!

Without giving too much away, I realized that while I was more compelled in “Cold Call” last week by its characters, story and its bit of mystery, I felt that this week’s episode’s forte is in its combat. Both in space and even when it’s on the ground, in underground tunnels that — *gasp* — actually look like underground tunnels, and not like some indoor motor speedway that can seat 200,000.

From the size of environments to the type of story people want, it’s as if the last six months of feedback has been heard and used to craft these weekly episodes. So far, Cryptic’s 2 for 2 in my mind, and if all goes well I’m not expecting the third installment arriving next week to disappoint me either. The real question is, can they keep it up?

9 comments

  1. Just completed those back to back. Have to say I prefered the second but that might just be me. Fun to know they can be done at all levels :)

    Now I seriously hate breen cryo grenades >.<


    • Yep, a good decision on Cryptic’s part to make that content available to new players just leveling up and reaching 10. Encourages everyone to play together too, regardless of rank.


      • It’s encouraged my to get my alt leveled up too. Knowing there’s a special reward for finishing before the second arc is out also has me considering making a tactical alt as well (something I’d planned to wait until/if my engineer hit VA).


  2. I think they can, this weekly development has been great. Hopefully, they’ll redesign the ship interiors to be more proportionate, as well.


    • I think everything for the rest of this story arc will be top notch. I’m sure the real challenge is consistently coming up with content that will keep an impatient, easily bored and distracted fanbase happy ;) :P


  3. Those are some excellent screenshots. The game may not have hooked me, but I have to admit that Cryptic made it look real pretty.


    • Yes, it is absolutely gorgeous, even better now when I’m playing on the new computer, on which these screenshots were taken.


  4. I was in Beta and never quite felt that ‘hook’ (not a Trekkie at all but was looking for a good sci-fi MMO).
    After reading this blog my interest in STO was piqued. I found the CE on Amazon for $20.00. I’ve been playing two days nonstop and have been having a blast. Game has vastly improved from optimization to quest writing/design. Not sure if I will stick with it long term, but good filler until SWTOR comes out in the least.


    • $20 bucks is a good deal for the game. I was playing in the open beta as well, and since then have played STO on and off. I can honestly say this game has seen some major improvements in the last 6 months. There’s still room for more content, but at least for now the Weekly Feature episodes have kept me maintaining my sub. Every weekend is a great time to log on and do some missions with the fleet which comprises of mostly other bloggers. It’s a fun group to play with, feel free to look me up in game! @Caylinn



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers