h1

Fine Day For A Witch Hunt

September 7, 2010

I was all prepared to write a positively happy post brimming with excitement over Witch Hunt, the new DLC for Dragon Age: Origins, and I still want to, but for the time being I’m distracted by a sudden and blinding hatred for Microsoft and Xbox Live. The kind of burning rage that can only really be alleviated by doing something like throwing a very large TV off a very tall building. Alas, ever since I’ve moved trekking up the CN Tower is no longer an option, and not that I have a TV to spare anyway, so I’m just going to resort to complaining on the internet.

Anyway, I own both the PC and Xbox 360 versions for DA:O, but since my favorite character and the playthrough where I managed to marry Alistair and shamelessly muscle my way up to the Ferelden throne is on the latter, that’s where I decided to make my DLC purchase. Waiting for it to be released for 360 wasn’t the problem, because I can be patient. What made me want to tear my hair out came afterward when I tried to buy Microsoft points and found my billing address stuck to Canada — except I’m in the US now with US bank accounts. From previous experience, I’ve known that the country associated with your Xbox Live account can’t be changed once it’s created, and with media distribution rights and laws differing so much internationally, I can even kind of understand why. I guess I should have foreseen this, and I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me earlier that buying points online with a credit card might present a problem, but it did. Come on, I’m trying to give you money!

So I guess I’m forever stuck buying point cards from retailers like Best Buy every time I want to make a DLC purchase, or just take the plunge and create a whole new Xbox Live account — thereby losing all the saved game content, my friends list, achievements etc. associated with that gamertag — an idea I don’t want to think about right now, and wasn’t going to help my predicament anyway. I ultimately resolved the problem without having to do either, but it’s not a permanent solution so it’s still an issue that’s going to be hanging over my head, but I figure I’ll deal with it when the time comes (most likely when account renewal time comes at the end of the year).

For now, I’m happy enough that the DLC is on its way, the green bar slowly chugging along thanks to my pathetic connection speeds (my husband just now goes, “What, complaining about our internet again? Does someone want instant gratification?” I’ll go bite his head off later). As far as Dragon Age DLC goes, I haven’t been too interested in most of them. But Witch Hunt is different because ever since I finished the main game, I’ve been plagued with the question of what happened to Morrigan. I’m hoping this campaign will finally shed some light on that, and I’m very, very excited to play it, so much that I’d cut through a thousand more miles of Microsoft red tape if I have to.

10 comments

  1. I don’t know why music companies, software companies, or any company makes it so hard to get a hold of their product. Whether it be drm, forcing people to be on the internet, or xboxs lousy account system. Even with the hurdles of various laws in various countries, it should be brain dead obvious to make it as simple as possible to get money from customers any way possible.

    On another note, are you sure you need to know what happened to morrigan? Wouldn’t a mysterious ending provoke your imagination….nahhhhh I’m just kidding. lets not get into that conversation again.

    is that comment about throwing your tv off a tall building related to sctv?


    • It honestly makes no sense to me. I can have a US bank account under my name and a US address now, so it’s not like I’m out to cheat the system and get content that’s not available or hasn’t been cleared in my country. But no, it’s impossible to change the country associated with my account.

      And no, it’s not related to sctv, I actually had to look sctv up before I remembered what it was.


  2. I’m surprised this stuff works at all sometimes. I had a heck of a time with DA:O on the PC, so I never bought a single bit of extra content. Well, there was also the fact that I wasn’t blown away by the game, but still.


    • Now that I’ve calmed a little, I guess I have to admit that for the most part Xbox Live is actually okay and most things do work. Just don’t ever move to another country.


  3. That blows… hard.


    • Doesn’t it? Times like these it hits me how foreign Canada feels.


  4. Isn’t it incredible how hard some companies make it to give them money?

    Guess I’m stuck in the US and have to give up my dream of moving to New Zealand.


    • Even though it would royally suck, I suppose if I have to say bye bye to my gamertag and account, I could make myself do it. I can imagine how bad it would be if I was one of those people with years of games under their belt and thousands of achievement points though, it would be like losing something sentimental.

      For now, I’m glad that the subscription and point cards sold in Canada and the US seem to be the same, not tied to country. So I always have a back up plan


  5. Did some digging & according to one blog a possible workaround is to create a new silver account in the new country, use that to download the DLC which will then be available to your out-of-country account.

    Here’s the article for reference:
    http://tf.erzz.com/2007/03/14/xbox-live-accounts-great-but-dont-move-to-another-country/

    Not specific to DAO but maybe it’ll work?


    • I saw that link too, in fact it was that page where I learned of the details. I would consider trying that out if there was no other way, for now I still have some alternatives to play with.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,304 other followers