Archive for September 13th, 2010

h1

STO: Too Cold For Comfort

September 13, 2010

Three weekends gone by, three Star Trek Online weekly episodes under my belt. I logged in on Saturday 10 minutes before 2pm EST to anticipate the latest mission “Cold Comfort” only to find it had gone live earlier than I had expected. Several of my fleet members were online already, and I quickly jumped into a group with Tipa, all fired up and ready to go kick some Breen ass.

My excitement quickly fizzled as soon as I found out it was going to be a diplomatic mission. I should have expected as much as soon as Ambassador Jiro appeared on my screen, and heaven knows that idiot never shows up with opportunities when I want him to, but he contacts me now with a lecture about our tentative relations with the Deferi and a warning. In a nutshell, “No fighty, just talky.”

U.S.S. Taiga to the rescue.

Fair enough. Even the best Star Trek series story arcs are punctuated every so often by episodes where the characters just sit around and talk, so I certainly don’t mind a week where we get to slow down and do a mission that requires more reading and dialogue than combat — if it’ll drive the story forward.

As it turned out, “Cold Comfort” had a pretty good story behind it. Still, I’d be lying if I said I enjoyed this episode nearly as much as I did the previous two.

Please state the nature of the medical emergency!

As you recall, the Season Two update brought in the Federation Diplomatic Corps and a new system to gain diplomatic experience. I had a lot of fun with the handful of diplomatic missions that also came along, mainly because doing them actually required some effort to read, to think, to explore, etc. Rushing through those missions by simply clicking random options that you think sound good would get you nowhere. I had expected much the same from “Cold Comfort” but things turned out being pretty straightforward. Easy, even.

One of your bridge officers will pop up at some point to remind you to be tactful when interrogating the Breen prisoner, but the right dialogue options are very obvious. Unless you seriously missed the point or are so socially impaired that you can’t see why calling someone a “dishonorable failure” will piss them off, you really can’t screw this up.

Like I was saying, I enjoy diplomatic missions and think they’re a nice break from the combat. I don’t mind seeing more of them, but at the very least I wish they could be a little more challenging. It pains me a little to admit this since I’ve been loving these weeklies so far, but “Cold Comfort”, while being a well put together episode, feels too bland. Even a medical mini-game at the beginning where you had to treat Deferi patients would have been a nice touch, if nothing else, just to enliven the experience.

Off to polish the heavy cannons now, here’s hoping they’ll get to see some action next week.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,375 other followers