h1

My New Favorite Place In LOTRO

September 23, 2010

After all this time in Lord of the Rings Online I thought Rivendell was the pinnacle of beauty, but it seems those damn elves had been holding out on me.

Imlad Gelair

After gaining the reputation required, I finally discovered what was behind that mysterious door beside the waterfall. Before I made it to Imlad Gelair I had to make my way through the long dark caverns…for dramatic effect, I suppose. Hey, it worked. You elves are awesome, I get it.

Ever since getting this new PC, I’ve also been unable to play this game without feeling the urge to take a screenshot like every five steps I take. The habit’s gotten quite out of hand, to the point where I’m embarrassed to admit how many times I’ve actually fallen off cliffs and bridges because I was too busy pushing the “Prnt Scrn” button to notice where I’m going. The less said about how many times I’ve been beaten to a pulp and killed by mobs because I was too busy taking pictures, the better.

For all the mishaps, at least I was able to come away with some great shots. For all that trouble, I might as well share a few of my favorites.

I think one of the most wonderful thing about LOTRO is the sky. Kind of a stupid comment, I know, but I can probably stand there like an idiot and stare at it for hours. I mean, it looks like it goes on foreeeever. And that cloud looks like a fine mushroom pie!

Sunset over the Lone-lands.

The trees in this area around the river Bruinen in the Trollshaws always reminds me of a Monet painting.

Looking Around the Riverbend.

All that swimming is a pain in Evendim, but at least it gives me plenty of time to take pretty pictures.

Morning's rising on the Lake of the Twilight.

8 comments

  1. Hmm, a Monet. That might be an awesome basis for the look and feel of an MMO, different art styles.


    • Yeah, all the different colors scattered around in the foliage remind me of thousands of tiny brush strokes. You mean you’d like to see environments inspired by the impressionist art style?


  2. Those are some great shots. LotRO is an awesome looking game if you have to graphics card to handle it. It actually make is hard to play with less than perfect specs once you know what you’re missing.


    • Even on my older computer LOTRO looks great, better than expected. But yeah, I run it on ultra high quality now on the new PC and it’s just stunning.


  3. Nice screen shots. For all the swimming, I still love Evindim just because it’s so pretty. If spending five minutes swimming back and forth across a huge lake is the price I have to pay for a zone to have absolutely stunning scenery, so be it!


    • Yeah, I spent a lot of time swimming back and forth especially doing the Blue Lady’s quests. Speaking of that, Rushingdale and Gwindethrond…gorgeous. The sight of that place made my jaw drop. I love moments like those.


  4. Gorgeous pics! I take way too many also! Can’t wait to see the elven areas, they look amazing.


    • I’m guessing you are going to buy your player house in the elven neighborhood :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,160 other followers