h1

My 3 Joys In Minecraft

October 7, 2010

As Minecraft has become my latest preoccupation, I figure I might as well embrace it.

1. Creating

Every time I log in to our multiplayer server I’m just overcome with this urge to build. Even before I’m putting the final finishing touches on a current project, I’m already thinking about my next. Everywhere I look is inspiration for another construction waiting to happen. One day it’s, “Hmm, that island looks lonely, it needs a lighthouse!” Another day it’s, “I need something tall so I think I’ll build the CN Tower!”  Tomorrow, it might be “Maybe I’ll find myself another dungeon and make myself another zombie enclosure!”

It’s an addiction, I can’t help it.

Complete with glass floor.

2. Exploring

Just be careful not to get lost. Personally, I am just as directionally challenged in-game as I am in real life, so it’s no surprise that on our server, the “/home” command has become by bestest friend.

Forest fires can be an indication of the map expanding. Oh crap, did I just make the server laggier?

But sometimes getting lost is worth it. Something about Minecraft makes wandering off feel so rewarding. I for one never imagined that landscapes composed of blocky graphics could look so beautiful. I can never resist checking out any dark caves in the sides of mountains either, all the better if they lead to deep, extensive underground tunnels that might hold rare ores. Needless to say, I always keep my inventory stocked with torches.

3. Sharing

It’s not just about finding the “natural” formations that makes it so fun to explore. Often I’ll stumble across points of interest simply by checking in on my neighbors when I need a break from digging or building. It’s always interesting to see how someone’s area has completely transformed after a few days, and you think to yourself, “Wow, so-and-so has sure been busy!” A floating fortress or towering skywalk might blow me away, or sometimes it’s the little things like a sign left by someone off the coast that says “Merman Island” that will bring a smile to my face.

And of course, there are those lava spewing skull mountains that make you think "Holy shit, that is seriously cool."

9 comments

  1. Awesome I can’t wait to get home and boot the game up and check out all your creations first hand


    • Great, looking forward to seeing you around on the server!


  2. I’m not much of an architect so I tend to just dig and build simple tools. I’m going to hollow out my island though I think. just for fun.


    • Ah, digging is sometimes the most fun thing to do. Whenever I find myself in tunnel I want to keep going to see what’s further in…and when I run out of tunnel, I dig my own!


  3. Mer-man island was Skeletor up to his tricks again! :)


    • Cool, you did that? I thought it was Maeve! :P


  4. Sounds like a really fun time you’re having. I like that it can be multiplayer too, must be fun running around seeing what everyone else is doing too. One of these days I’d like to grab it. Soo busy lately though!!


  5. [...] Creating and Exploring, having others to play with added the aspect of Sharing. And with that, the golden trifecta of Minecraft is [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,370 other followers