h1

Minecraft: 12 Things To See Before You Die In Bluekaedia (If Dying Were Possible)

October 20, 2010

Upon my return from vacation, I learned that a week in Minecraft can mean a world of change. A flurry of construction projects both big and small have sprung up on Blue Kae’s server since the last time I peeked my head in, most of which have completely altered the face of the map. Resolving to familiarize myself with the place once more, last night I took a torch in hand and decided to tour the land. What I ended up with is a collection of interesting sights to see in beautiful Bluekaedia, some of which I’d like to showcase here. Narrowing it down to just 12 was a challenge, as it’s possible in some areas to find a dozen points of interest my peers and I have created simply by standing still. So much to see, so little time. And if you’re on the server and haven’t checked these out already, you really should!

By the way, Bluekaedia isn’t the server’s real name, simply a personal nickname I’ve been using for a while now. As far as I know, the world has yet to have an official name, but frankly, I’m tired of typing out “Blue Kae’s Minecraft Server” every time and I think Bluekaedia sounds pretty.

Nature can thrive in the strangest of places

From the torchlit giant of a tree, growing in a gloomy basement...

To the floating woods out past the bay...

Not your typical hedge maze…

Cactus maze on Cutthroat Island, try not to prick yourself on the way out.

Portals into the past 

Giza meets Peggy's Cove.

A mysterious great wall.

Floating castles of the rich and famous

Who is this "Scary" and where can I get his autograph?

Scale new heights…

Walk the Skywalk.

Hit new lows…

The aptly named "Trail of Tears" leads to this mineshaft. No, seriously, where's the way out of this hellhole?

Triumphs of Vision

 

Earth, wind and fire (really obsidian, water and gold).

The skull mountain lords are most displeased with your insolence.

The explorers stumbled upon this glass house beneath the ocean waves.

In the presence of monsters

Kick back and relax in one of Bluekaedia's many delightful zombie pits!

14 comments

  1. personally i’ve been lobbying for “Eternia” as the name of the server, but so far i’ve only convinced Maeve.

    that shot of that pit is great. i was standing at ground level and you can’t even see my name.

    can’t believe you referenced peggy’s cove either.


    • Peggy’s Cove is gorgeous, it was the first name that came to mind when I thought “lighthouse”. I visited the place years ago and I still remember it fondly.


  2. Very nice collection of photos from the server

    //signed// <—there you go


  3. If Dying *Were* Possible.

    Bad grammar makes me[sic]. ;)


    • Awesome new masthead, BTW. :D


    • Ah, subjunctives and indicatives, what a shady area you are. I’m going to have to argue that while “were” is the grammatically correct form to use, “was” is an accepted form in speech or informal writing. Prescriptivism vs. Descriptivism. Since this post is not an English paper and it is my blogging style to write as people speak, I subscribe to the latter when writing this blog. But fine, I’ll change it if it will make you and all the other grammar police out there happy, eh :P


  4. Hehe…we’ll need to make some kind of atlas using the maps that BK has been generating. XD


    • That or build more roads and signs! I’m curious as to what you’re building out there, it’s HUGE.


      • We definitely need more signs. I’d love to start annotating the maps that we generate, but the file is getting to pig already. I’m trying to find a mapping program that will generate a map as multiple smaller files, both so there’s not a huge single image and so we can get better detail. Right now the large the map, the less small stuff you can see.


      • Gah! Not pig, I meant big.


  5. I’d still like to join your server at some point Blue. Amazing work people have been doing.


    • Any time, Amuntoth. I posted some updates on my site with details about how.


  6. […] MMO GamerChick has posted some nice screenshots of some of the construction projects going on in our little Minecraft world. […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,415 other followers