h1

Me, Myself And The Wasteland

October 21, 2010

Oh, and Victor. Thanks, by the way, I do feel as fit as a fiddle.

While reading Gordon’s blog post about MMOs and fun vs. habit the other day, it occurred to me that, yes, I’ve logged in to games before for no other reason than that it feels like the right thing to do. I’ve gone through the MMO motions before, and afterward wound up feeling like I’ve eaten a big meal without really tasting any of it. And yes, the MMOs I play can sometimes feel like a “giant comfort blanket” of familiarity that I wrap myself in to achieve a sense of habitual routine and stability. Not that it’s always a bad thing, mind you; I’m a human being after all and need some order in my life, dammit. Nevertheless, sometimes that blanket can feel heavy enough to suffocate me.

I guess this is what people mean when they say they’ve fallen into an “MMO rut.” Personally, I’ll always love MMOs no matter what, so I try hard not to let myself get to the point where I stop having fun or start feeling unhappy. But a girl’s just gotta get away from the massively multiplayer environment and have some “Me” time every once in a while, that’s all. But while Gordon finds it difficult to pick up where he left off after a reasonable period of absence from a game, it’s the opposite for me. They say absence makes the heart grow fonder, and to be sure, I always attack my MMOs with a renewed fervor after being away from them for a while.

Aren't they like the cutest things you've ever seen? Seriously!

This is where the single-player game comes in. Case in point, I’m currently spicing up my gaming life with a delightfully sultry affair with Fallout: New Vegas. I’d been looking forward to this for a long time.

After two days of playing, I’m about six hours in and still haven’t even made it to The Strip yet, so any opinions are still a little premature. But I’m liking what I see so far, though admittedly parts of the game feel slightly sloppy and lacking in polish. I’m not just talking about the bugs either; so far the story lines and quests are great but just don’t feel as “tight” as they could be. The characters I’ve encountered are intriguing, but I haven’t been able to get a good grasp on anyone’s personality the way I was immediately able to do so in Fallout 3, probably because I was thrown into the Mojave Wasteland to fend for myself so soon after the very short intro.

By the way, comparisons between Fallout 3 and New Vegas are going to be inevitable, since they do feel very similar.

Mogsy's the best kind of person there is.

Anyway, I had a chat with one of my friends earlier today about how I’m going to play my character. In Fallout 3, I was a goody-two-shoes to the end, and so this time I definitely want to play the jerk in New Vegas. It’s hard for me, even though it’s a game, just because it’s so against my nature. I really have to push myself to make my Mogsy evil, but so far she can only manage to steal things when no one is watching, and shoot innocent people in the back of their heads when they aren’t expecting it. Oh my God, I can’t even bring myself to be a straightforward asshole, I gotta be the pathetic and cowardly kind. But hey, more of my karma seeps away from me each day, and well, whatever works.

15 comments

  1. I’m purchased it earlier today and am installing it now. No idea how i’m going to play it but i’ll probably go with my usual all over the place improvised approach.

    you named her mogsy! awesome.


    • I thought Mogsy sounded like a strong, post-war wasteland name! :P


  2. I decided to pick the cannibal perk, maybe this allows me to get along better in the hard survivalist mode. It is part of my “live from the land” strategy. But why can’t I drink blood, dehydration is a real danger.

    Plant explosives on people in crowded places. Sometimes they can’t put the blame on you then.

    … I guess I just inspired you. ;)

    Maybe I should wait a bit before venturing further, as I have some minor but rather annoying techical issues with FNV that I did not have with FO3: My mouse movement in dialogues is sometimes so weird I can’t believe it. I already did some fiddling around and read up about this stuff, but I could not eliminate it completely.

    So far my impression is that FNV is like FO3, but with some extra dose of style and humor, maybe courtesy of Obsidian. But Feargus Urquhart is CEO, not sure how much influence he had on the design. I hope they did go the Fallout 2 style route, great game, but also very buggy on release. I read some discouraging news about bugs from you on Twitter yesterday.


    • Cannibal perk? You monster! Haha nah, it would have been an awesome perk, but I’d just be nervous of someone seeing me while I’m chewing on a corpse is all.

      I hope my comments about bugs didn’t discourage you too much, they are somewhat annoying but really aren’t that bad to take away from the game.


  3. Are you talking to me in the picture? ARE YOU. TALKING TO ME?!

    *does his best Taxi Driver Robert de Niro sneer*


    • Seriously, I think there is something strange about that Victor the robot…I have a feeling he’s EVIL!


  4. Oddly enough, I still have bugs when playing Fallout 3 – namely that it will randomly crash out to the desktop completely, and that Alt+Tab sometimes will get me out, but I can’t get back in and have to force-close it. But in about 5 total hours of gameplay on FNV, I haven’t encountered one issue. I’m counting myself lucky, at this point (keeps crossing fingers).

    I always want to do the “jerk” path, but can’t bring myself to do it. I’m curious to hear about how it plays out. I’m still being the nice guy.

    Did you notice that Sunny Smiles looks strikingly familiar? (I swear she’s a clone of the overseer’s daughter from the opening section of FO3.)


    • I hope your luck continues! I’m usually lucky with bugs and such, maybe my gameplay will be more bugfree once I get further in. I haven’t encountered any major problems like crashes, however, thank god.

      Last night I killed an old lady for her unique weapon. I feel awesome. :P


  5. it’s hard to resort to evilness when your father is liam neeson. but you have no excuse this time to not dick it up.


    • You are so right about that. I actually felt ashamed when he chastised me for shooting him in the back of his knee with my BB gun in Fallout 3 :P


  6. I still need to finish Fallout 3, so not sure when I’ll get to this one. On a good note, most of the bugs should be worked out by then. :)

    I have a horrible time trying to play mean characters. Someone asks for help and I feel like I must help them! I usually only try it with second or third characters. My first character is always the one who goes around helping everyone and righting every wrong. At least mostly.


    • Sometimes I think I wind up playing the “good” guy in games because when NPCs ask me for help it would drive me crazy not to know how the story ends. Definitely playing it a second time makes being evil a lot easier, since I’ll already know what happens :D


  7. Great that your enjoying the game. I heard many good things, but I need to finish FO3 before I move on to anything else.

    I can never bring myself to play a jerk in any of those games. Nothing about that playstyle appeals to me. Maybe I’m too much of a jerk in real life so I don’t need the outlet. :)


  8. I have the same issue, it’s really hard for me to play an asshole in these games. I felt genuinely guilty when I got near the end of the darkside arc in KoTOR. I have yet to see the asshole story options in mass effect.


  9. [...] missions due to crashes/bugs, or b) dicking around aimlessly). I’d already written a post or two about my experiences, and hopefully I made my enjoyment of the game obvious enough. Still, I [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers