h1

Art Post: Rer The Blood Elf Death Knight

November 16, 2010

I don’t normally post artwork that has been commissioned, but this time I had the pleasure of working with Rer of Multiplaying.net, who is such a cool guy and gave me his permission!

Rer the Blood Elf Death Knight

The request came soon after I posted the full version of my old banner, when he asked for a portrait of his World of Warcraft Blood Elf Death Knight done in a similar style. Here are a few excerpts from the awesomely detailed description with which I was provided (again, with special thanks to Rer):

…the motif of the picture is Frost/Ice.  My Death Knight, Rer, should end up with a very stoic posture and demeanor, almost statue-like…

Helmet off, arms crossed, and otherwise standing stoic…if possible I’d rather not have the legs right next to each other…yet not slacking off either.

The great-sword would be implanted in the snow next to me, past the point of where it opens at the end. So only the solid “shaft” if you will of the sword, and then up to the hilt, would show.  Height-wise I would say somewhere to at least Rer’s belt would be preferred…

To add to the effect of being a “Frost” Death Knight…it might be cool to have icicles forming on both the weapon, the armor…

As you can see, I was given ample room to play around with this, but thanks to Rer’s descriptions I was also able to approach this drawing with a very clear and strong sense of what was required. I would have loved to do more, especially with the background, until it dawned on me how impossible it would have been to pull it off without making the entire thing look like a cluttered mess. And that’s why I can always appreciate detailed guidelines!

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the drawing as much as I enjoyed working on it! This project was quite an unexpected treat as I hadn’t had the chance to go back to penciling in a while, so it was a wonderful feeling to get to do it again.

24 comments

  1. That is awesome ! How long did that take ?


    • Hey thanks :) All together it probably took a week including the time going back and forth with Rer going through the details and sending him the draft and making sure everything was okay. But it took longer because of my busy schedule here with us taking care of the house and getting it ready to go on sale plus going house hunting. Rer was cool though and let me take my time :)


  2. Wow, that’s awesome!! How much do you charge?


    • Thanks :) And it all depends on the commission, how big the piece is, how much detail, etc.


  3. Very nice!


  4. I agree with the others: once again, you have done a great job.


  5. Wow, looks better than the real Rer!


    • ZING!


  6. awesome!


  7. @Mojeaux, Rowan, JayeDub, Z – Thanks for your kind comments, appreciate you all checking it out! :)


  8. That is amazing! I envy you. I can’t draw a stick figure to make it look like anything recognizable. Very nice work!


  9. That’s excellent. When it comes time to prettify my gamebook, I know where to ask.


  10. Ohh I really like! Very cool :D


  11. Worth every penny folks, definitely an honor to have such a masterpiece in my possession. :)


    • Hey, it was great doing business with you :) I’m glad you like it, that’s the most important thing to me.


  12. Wow, looks really great!

    Once my wife loosens up the purse strings from the holiday spending, we may have to talk. =D


  13. Excellent work, GC. As always.


  14. I just wanted to say, great art work. I wish I had a 3rd of the talent you have.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers