h1

Okay, Who’s Turn Was It To Chain The Dragon Up?

November 24, 2010

I think he got loose again...

As the rumors predicted, “The Shattering” patch hit World of Warcraft yesterday. Last night, the excitement was almost palpable as everyone in the guild chattered on about the changes big and small.

Meanwhile, my husband and I attempted to explore every corner of altered Azeroth. Let me tell you, our venture across this great expanse was a magical time of discovery and learning, and it was just simply amazing to be able to share this experience with my own back-pocket mage–er, I mean, the love of my life!

All joking aside, with the changes so extensive and thorough, we weren’t able to get very far in our exploration even with his portals. There was just too much to see. As you know, Gadgetzan is now prime beach-front property…

Azshara has its own rocket-coaster track…

And Auberdine is completely demolished. For some reason, seeing the following made me so sad.

To see that even the hippogryphs weren’t spared by the expansion, I was like WHY, DAMN YOU, WHY?!! Strangely, I felt little to nothing for the dead Night Elf NPC bodies littering the coast of Darkshore. What, they’ve done absolutely nothing but burden me with annoying quests when I was all but a little lowbie. But those hippogryphs, man, they faithfully and compliantly carried my ass everywhere for the last four years.

And of course, the most cataclysmic change of all…

"Hey, Kirstin, Scott and Thomas, what the hell have you done with Olivia, Newton and John?! You bastards!"

Edit: Thanks to Rowan for pointing out they are on the other side of the bank, alive and well. You got lucky this time, Westmills.

Anyway, never let it be said that I don’t stop to smell the roses. Or in this case, sunflowers. Getting this disgustingly cute pet, an obvious reference to a certain PopCap Games favorite, was high on my to-do list yesterday. I don’t think I’ve ever been so eager to visit Hillsbrad Foothills, where I prepared to try my hand at some Plants vs. Zombies, WoW style.

Best brush up on your PvZ skills if you’re rusty; they don’t make it easy. Or maybe it’s just because I suck. Hey, my husband is the PvZ expert, not me. The last two phases took me half a dozen tries before I finally got the hang of it. Getting the adorable little guy in the end is worth it though. And he sings so sweetly.

I told myself I wasn’t going to do any of the new quests in the low-level zones until I rolled my Worgen, but I ended up having to break that rule for another new pet added with the patch. Turns out, the opportunity to obtain Withers only opens up after completing a long quest chain in Darkshore, which probably comprises about half the damn quests in the zone.

Nothing like vanity pets to get me all riled up. There are worse things to motivate me, I suppose.

As an unexpected treat, I had Anjin of Bullet Points to keep me company while I quested, after discovering that he has a couple Alliance characters on Silvermoon as well. So random, but always a pleasure when coincidences like this make you realize the world (of Warcraft) is smaller than you think.

11 comments

  1. I can see why you were so eager to get those pets. They look awesome.

    It was great to run into you last night. I can’t wait to see what else this expansion has in store for us.


    • Apparently, Withers will shrink or grow depending on his proximity to or time away from water. I’m so going to test that out tonight.

      And I’m glad I ran into you last night too. I had friended your two other Alliance characters, had no idea you were going to start a new one. Thanks for looking me up.


  2. Didn’t get a chance to check it out lat night. I am interested to see some of this for myself over the next couple days.


    • I’m going to be busy exploring for the next few days myself. Didn’t get to check out near as much as I wanted last night.


  3. No wonder we haven’t seen you around! You have been on the alliance >_<

    Lots of neat changes, still some of those places I haven't been to. Taking my time still.


    • Yeah, I do everything on my Ally main first :P But I’ve been playing the tauren daily for the last few days too! Getting her to 80 should be a breeze now.


  4. Holy cow, I want that flower pet. I have been digging the changes a heck of a lot, it’s almost like a whole new game.


    • When you do the PvZ quest for it, make sure you get two rows of sunflowers down for the last couple of stages…made my life so much easier once I figured that out >_<

      But wow, it was so worth it. Wait til you hear the little guy sing. Melts your guts with its cuteness, I tell you!


  5. That Sunflower quest chain was pretty good. My cousin was swearing up a storm but cooled off after I told him other people got it, so it is possible but just hard. It’s a challenge, after all. He got it, I got it in less tries than him, so we all win :D

    Kinda curious to see how the Misses fairs on the quest chain. I think she might take a few tries as well, but she was a Command and Conquer god the firs time she ever played that, so it’s anyone’s guess.

    Withers should grown/shrink near water unless he is bugged, but I can’t wait for Archeology to release to I can try to get my hands (pun intended) on the mummified hand pet. The Thing (another pun!) looks awesome.


    • Definitely PvZ veterans will have an easier time. My husband got it done in less time than me, he definitely figured out quicker that the two rows of sunflowers was the key :D That and I had to be more generous with my pumpkin bombs lol.


  6. [...] went about collecting all the new pets that she could. And apparently ran into [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,304 other followers