h1

The 5-Inhabitants-For-The-Price-Of-One-Update Deal!

November 26, 2010

Hey, good lookin'!

Due to the Thanksgiving holiday in the US, I wasn’t surprised to see a modest update from Star Wars: The Old Republic today. Hey, it’s Black Friday, Bioware devs need to shop too. And I’m sure there are a lot of gamers like me as well, too busy spending time with their loved ones and sleeping off the turkey overload. I don’t know what my husband was thinking, getting a bird big enough to feed a small village.

Anyway, five new entries were added to the Inhabitants page this morning — the Terentatek, the Vine Cat, the Sith Pureblood, the M3-M1 Medical Droid, and the S3-F5 Inclement Condition Probe. Okay, keeping track of those droids and their letter and number designations is going to be the death of me.

Nothing too extravagant, but wow, if you have time, check out some of the new screenshots. I remember a time when I was less than impressed with the graphics and models. Back then, folks were still saying, “Relax, just give Bioware time to work on things.” I didn’t doubt improvements were going to be made, but at the same time, I don’t think I expected such a stark difference between the “Before” and “After” either. Compared to some of the older material we’ve seen, it almost looks like a whole different game.

I for one really love the new stuff about the Sith Pureblood. Almost makes me want to change my mind about rolling a Bounty Hunter and roll a Sith Warrior instead, so I can look all badass with my red lightsaber like buddy there in the screenshot. Almost.

11 comments

  1. The only drawback on the Pureblood Sith is those skintags on steroids hanging from their jowls.


    • I laughed so hard when I read that, and all I could think about were those funny commercials I used to see in Canada for Dr. Scholl’s skin tag remover!


      • lmao, “eeww mommy what’s that on your neck” “oh that flap of skin, that’s my skin tag” haha it’s still running on the tube here.


  2. I won’t lie, the first mind change for me (keeping track of my scattered mind, i was dead set on BH myself :P) was seeing the beast mode armor some of the Sith warriors sport in recent video and saying, “Ooooooo………….i bet ALL of their armor is just as tight…and nobody has anything cooler…i bet i won’t sniff anything close to some Mandalorian Armor in this game..”

    The final straw was learning about the Sith Purebloods. Initially a mere gimmick in my mind at first glance, “Afterall, wtf does Bioware know about sith, blah blah blah..” but the more i learn about them and read due to this stuff…..the more i’ve already dreamed up a backstory, name, and outright want to play a sith warrior………Damn the fact everyone and their momma is gonna play one, I WANT :(

    p.s. Omg starting to think the only thing hotter than a twi’lek chick is a flaming red Sith Pureblood one /drool…..also want.


    • You make a good point though, I bet the Mandalorian type armor for BHs will look awesome ;)

      And I’m beginning to warm to the Sith Purebloods. I always thought they were pretty ugly humanoids, and the earlier screenshots of them made them look even uglier. But I saw the new screenie of the Sith Pureblood female there and was like, “Hmm, not bad.” And in the above screenshot I can’t believe it, they made tentacles on a face look good! :P


  3. Ooh the Sith Pureblood look pretty awesome. Is that hair on the sides of the face though or some kinda growth thing?


    • Yeah, it’s like tentacles growing from their faces! I have a feeling you might be able to drop them though, somewhere in the customization process. :P


  4. I planned to roll a Sith Pureblood, Marauder spec, since the race was first announced–this latest update only confirms to me that I made the right decision.lol

    I agree about the progress of the animation. On high end machines, I think the finished version of this game is going to look gorgeous. The landscapes themselves are enough to take my breath away, and the characters are fast catching up to them in terms of quality. I think visually this game is going to be stunning in its finished state.

    As for the turkey, your husband had the right idea.

    Leftovers are a Thanksgiving tradition, too.;)


    • I hope Bioware is still staying the course with their plans to keep specification requirements down. I know people have criticized SWTOR graphics as too “cartoony” but I find I don’t mind at all. I think the style they have chosen has a timeless look to it, it will look less outdated in a few years than a lot of other MMOs boasting better graphics.


      • I agree about the artstyle being a positive, in terms of giving SWTOR a look that won’t fade with the time. It is easy to scream about wanting pristine graphics, but graphic quality changes so much, so quickly, those awesome graphics can look positively dated in no time at all.

        Another reason having a unique art style works well, is that it makes it easy to tell your game from another. I can look at a number of games, and I can’t tell which game it belongs to on sight alone most times. But I can see myself spotting a random image on a message board or something in the future, and because SWTOR has such a distinct look, I’m positive I’ll recognize it on sight alone.

        As far as the system specification issue, I think BioWare will stay on course for that.

        I see them getting closer to a middle ground like WoW has with regards to graphics. Of course the game is going to look wicked on high end machines (which is their intention, I’m sure), but I’ve seen beta videos that are on lower graphical settings, and it still looks like SWTOR–just not as shiny.lol

        BioWare has preached accessibility of all MMOers by keeping reasonable system specs that I find it hard to believe they would go back on that now. For those people that have rigs to handle this game on the highest settings, it is plain to see the graphics, when fully polished, will not disappoint.

        P.S. – I am also amazed at the jump in the quality of graphics SWTOR has made in such a short time.
        How about this for a juicy tidbit: BioWare really isn’t even in the polishing phase yet.
        Who knows how much sweeter the graphics will look when complete.


      • Yeah, hey just look at WoW. After so many years, it’s still a pretty good looking game, imo. I know people complain about the cartoony style there as well, but on high settings I still think it’s as gorgeous as ever.

        I’m definitely for lower requirements, even though I have a pretty high end machine. It all comes back to inclusiveness again; the smartest thing a developer can do is make their product accessible. That’s as important as making a fun game, I think. Sometimes we gamers forget that the average person’s computer is not a hardcore gaming rig, and that heavy graphics requirements hold many back from even making the purchase in the first place.

        And yeah, can’t wait to see the finished SWTOR. I can already see a world of difference between the first screenshot of the sith pureblood female we got a few months back, compared to the one we got in this update.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,298 other followers