Archive for December 1st, 2010

h1

Sims 3 And Interior Decorating

December 1, 2010

I’ve owned Sims 3 on PC since the day it came out, but I think I’ve only played it a handful of times. While I love these “strategic life simulation” games (probably because I’m a control freak) I can only stand to play them once every few months, for just a week or two at a time. I get too bored after a while, and a little jealous that my Sims are living more opulent lives than me, and will start to mess around. That “Sims Legacy Challenge” idea probably lasted all but two days (and less than three generations) before I got distracted and started doing things like murdering Sims in creative ways and burying them in the backyard, or seeing how many children my Sim can father on all the neighborhood women until everyone in the whole damn town is related.

So I had to chuckle a little at the irony when I fired up the game last night, to do something actually serious in it for once…and applicable to real life.

See, my husband and I recently signed a contract for a house, and last weekend we got into a conversation about how we would furnish the living room. Particularly, we talked about color schemes. I initially floated a few ideas by him, and he was skeptical about all of them, until a light came on and we figured out that he was having trouble picturing it all in his head.

That was all it took to get me onto Sims 3, building a replica of our future house. In doing so, I also gained a strong appreciation for the game’s customization tools. I might not have had all the building materials or furniture pieces I required, but if I wanted to change any fabrics to navy blue or a piece of wood to cherry, all it took was a few clicks of a button. It’s obviously no where near as powerful as the professional programs out there, but it was enough for me to convey a basic “look and feel”.

In the end, it was only the colors that mattered to me anyway. It was tough to work with plain white walls, but I was able to play with a few ideas.

…and I admit it was more fun than I expected.

Overview with a bit of cool undertones.

 

A splash of red...

 

Warm browns...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers