h1

*QUESH*! What? No, I Didn’t Just Step In Bantha Poodoo

January 21, 2011

Quesh, quesh, quesh. Maybe it's just me, but that's a pretty unfortunate name for a planet.

Today’s Star Wars: The Old Republic update is a new planet reveal — a valuable yet dangerous world worthy of any environmentalist’s worst nightmare: Quesh. By all accounts, it appears to be a BioWare original, created especially for SWTOR, undoubtedly for the sole purpose of providing us players with another PvP planet. Or at least, I believe all signs point to it being a PvP planet.

Here, check out this video featuring 20 seconds of fly-by footage of some of the polluted, poison-laden and smoke-filled chemical refineries on the toxic surface of New Jersey — er, I mean, Quesh!

If indeed PvP is going to be the main feature of this planet, then Bioware has once again gone above and beyond with the story. When I first read the description for Quesh, I figured the valuable chemicals in its atmosphere was just your typical set-up for yet another Republic vs. Empire quibble over a resource war. In other words — YAWWWWN! But throw in a Hutt cartel war? Hutt-on-Hutt action (Oh God, no…hey! Stop, picturing that, brain!) is something else.

And a Republic and Hutt alliance? Even if it’s with just a few individuals, that’s um…rare…to say the least. But then again, a Hutt’s greed knows no bounds.

For those keeping count, we are now sitting at 17 for the number of planets in SWTOR. The devs weren’t kidding when they said this game’s gonna be huge, and even though it’s been more than three months between Quesh and the last planet reveal of Ilum, I don’t doubt we’ll be seeing at least another planet before release. I can’t really provide the evidence as to why I think so, just that I think it’d be weird to stop at an odd and prime number like 17 (hoorah for totally unscientific and groundless hunches!)

And hey, keep ‘em coming. I love planet reveals and can always do with more, even if that number is to reach 24 and I end up losing my bet with Hunter. Haha, it’s been a while, but nope, I haven’t forgotten about that.

16 comments

  1. I’ll be interested to see how they deal with the impossibility of actually portraying entire planets. Will there be glass walls, or logical terrain barriers?

    And is it pronounced “Kwesh” or “Kesh,” or “Bob?


    • Bob!

      No, I figured it was pronounced the way it’s spelled, “Kwesh”. Otherwise, I have no idea.

      And I’d imagine we’d see terrain barriers like oceans and mountains etc. from Bioware, I’d think using invisible walls is a less popular method by now.


  2. Assuming each planet has roughly the same content as a KotOR planet, we are already up to something like two or three KotORs of content. They may not have been exaggerating when they said it’s the next few sequels rolled into one game.


    • What boggles my mind are the comments I’ve read in previews and hands-on articles that say walking across an entire zone takes around 45 min. That reallly IS huge!


      • If they deliver on that, this is going to be an astoundingly huge MMO. I now officially retreat into a small hut of skepticism.


  3. I might not have comments on this post until I saw Hutt-on-Hutt action.

    Ew.


    • You’re picturing it now too, aren’t you? :P


  4. my reasoning for them hopefully releasing more planets would be simple. You got to go big just before launch right? So there must be some really interesting or fascinating planet to release to help peak the hype.


    • They may continue to release planets gradually, but still be able to get to two dozen before the game comes out, due to having to push back the release date, which I think what most of us have come to expect by now. Or who knows, they might release a bunch close to launch!


  5. Quiche? I love quiche.

    But seriously, I’ll start by commenting on what I noticed first: the music.

    That frantic violin to start the video really set the tone for me. It reminded me of some old horror film scores, but the rest of the instrumentation really made it feel sci fi. Call me a pretentious music snob, but I’m really liking how the flute isn’t lost in all the pieces in the SWTOR soundtrack.

    Now as for the planet itself, I like it. It kind of has a “Hutta meets Ord Mantell” feel to it, and I like both of those worlds. (Seeing as how it is still possible those planets are faction specific, this may be the closest I’ll get to seeing Hutta on my Republic toons–and vice versa with my Imperial toons & Ord Mantell.) On the official site, the screens show different vehicles, turrets, tent canopy coverings, etc, scattered throughout the area. This type of an area might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it looks like a place I’ll enjoy exploring.

    Until BioWare corrects me, I’m going to stick to calling it “quiche”.lol


    • Ah, I like someone who can appreciate the flute! I played one for years, after all :D

      Interesting how Quesh is a brand new planet, unique unto itself, but it has characteristics we’re familiar with from other planets. Hutta and Ord Mantell feel to it for sure, and I’ve heard others liken it Dagobah and even “a better realized Mustafar.” It’s kinda neat to look at the screenshots and see glimpses of where the devs might have drawn their influences.

      Still, I wouldn’t have minded seeing some more “pretty” planets like Alderaan…too much yellow and brown on Quesh, a downside I guess, of a planet in or around Hutt space :P Let’s balance things a bit, Bioware, and give me a tropical paradise planet like Lehon, pre-jedi civil war! My bounty hunter needs a good vacation spot LOL


      • I am still hoping for Manaan. I wouldn’t mind some seaside property to add some diversity.

        But actually, if they release any of the planets that have been brought up in the lore so far (Yavin IV, Geonosis, etc), we should see some some great terrain diversity.

        Yavin IV is a jungle planet, after all. Geonosis, while similar to Korriban (only in that they both have sand), has all those tasty gladiatorial ruins, as well. Either or both worlds would provide a change from the industrialized worlds. But like you said, you can’t have a world with a Hutt presence and expect it to be a paradise. Hutts have a different idea of what is aesthetically pleasing.lol

        On a purely selfish note, if BioWare decided they needed another planet like Alderaan, all snow-capped and wintery, who am I to object?

        Since having a winter world in a game gives you the beauty of winter without the cold, I will never discourage anything that gets more “snow worlds” put into SWTOR.


      • I think, rather, Hutts don’t really care about aesthetics as long as they make their profits, even if it means living in a toxic smog wasteland LOL

        Anyway, I am almost certain Yavin IV will be in the game, guess that’s my tropics planet for me :P


    • The music is very Star Wars. Props to pointing that out.


  6. … Hutt on Hutt action…

    God damn it, GeeCee.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,304 other followers