Archive for March 10th, 2011

h1

Preparing For PAX

March 10, 2011

Like other folks who are attending PAX East this year, I am prepping for my trip. It’s going to be an interesting weekend, and not just because of the expo. I’ll be playing things by ear, because the next few days will also be more than just about PAX East. I’ll be sticking around in Massachusetts even afterward for family and business, so I just want to say my blog posting schedule for the next week may or may not be sporadic.

It’s kinda wacky. When I first bought these PAX East passes back in September of last year, I had thought we would be moved to the new house, unpacked, and all settled in by now. I had no idea that during the first couple weeks of March, we’d still have no furniture and be buried to our necks in moving boxes. Most of my belongings like clothing are still sealed up in a few of them…somewhere. Until I find the right boxes (which I doubt I can manage before we have to leave), I’ll just have to make do with what’s on hand.

Heh, at least I don’t have to worry about over-packing. Besides the travel essentials, all I really need to occupy myself is my laptop, mobile phone, and Kindle.

We’re also trying to cut down on our costs for this trip. Normally, we’d be trying to figure out accommodations, but lucky for us, my brother-in-law lives in Boston and he has so graciously invited us to stay with him over the weekend. He’s also a gamer and MMO player, so earlier this year we bought a PAX East pass for him as well, so he can join us for the craziness. The best part? His house is just ten minutes away from the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center, where PAX East is being held this year.

We also won’t take any more days off than we have to. Friday will be a travel day, and we’ll also be driving. That’s 7 hours by car with our two doggies — the big one that has been known to be prone to carsickness, and the little one that lately has just been getting over a bout of explosive diarrhea. FUN!

Friday evening we’ll probably be too exhausted to do anything, the most we’ll manage is probably attending one of the numerous community meet-ups. The real fun will begin in earnest on Saturday. I have no idea what to expect, besides lots and lots of people and long lines. Nevertheless, I’m excited because I know there will be tons to do and see. No doubt I’ll be studying the event schedule and putting together a list of things I want to hit up while I’m on my long road trip!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,367 other followers