h1

Riftshot Of The Day: The New Kidney In Town

April 5, 2011

So I’m sitting in my mid-40s in Rift at the moment, and just finished up with the Droughtlands. Boy, what a barren wasteland that place is. It’s desolate, bone-dry and crawling with Centaurs.

You’d think I would have had enough of the desert after that, but no. I had the choice of a couple other zones like Stillmoor or Iron Pine Peaks, but I decided to press onwards into Shimmersand. I liked the name and thought I would be greeted by a tropical paradise and stretches of white beaches…but instead, I got more desert. I don’t regret the decision though; in fact I think Shimmersand is the prettiest zone I’ve seen so far. I didn’t expect it to be so colorful, but numerous oases dotting the landscape and their nearby tented settlements do offer a vibrant charm.

The biggest hub in Shimmersand is Fortune’s Shore. I ran around once I got there and picked up my quests and talked to the NPCs. It didn’t take long for me to figure out that Fortune’s Shore is a pretty shady place. But I had no idea, really, just how shady.

That will teach me to go wandering into some dark and lonely cave all by myself.

I have seen quite a few humorous debuffs in this game so far that have made me giggle. This was no exception. Still, when I saw this, I was like, wow, kinda harsh. I mean, to his dog? TO HIS DOG??!?!

6 comments

  1. Hahaha that’s great. I remember when I was a youngin’ of 12 or so in Westfall and those mechanical harvesters infected me with a bleed labeled “Tetanus” and I was taken aback by it. Those little details will get ya every time.

    And dogs need iron, too!


    • We can give them supplements, and leave my kidney alone :P


  2. And now this makes me want to return to Rift. doh >.< But I can only subscribe to one mmo at the time :<


    • I hear ya. Two is the most I can manage these days, and only if I play one casually :P (That’s STO for me)


  3. That sounds great. I love all the little humorous touchs in the game.


    • Rift has been more humorous than I thought. When I first played, I expected it to be a “serious” game. Don’t get me wrong though, I love the funny touches!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,370 other followers