h1

Stunning

April 28, 2011

I’ve been taking in all of today’s news coming out of #SWTOUR (the Star Wars: The Old Republic’s Fan Site Summit) with casual aplomb, until I saw this exclusive screenshot of Nar Shaddaa from Oldrep.de that almost made me wet myself.

Wow. I mean, futuristic sci-fi cities aren’t exactly the easiest game environments to pull off, so shots like these tend to catch my eye. For this reason, for all the scenic beauty of Alderaan or nostalgic charms of Taris, my favorite planet will probably end up being Coruscant or something. I’ve always felt more at home in big cities anyway.

For more general information out of the Fan Site Summit, I’ve been following Darth Hater; nothing too earth shattering thus far, but interesting nonetheless.

13 comments

  1. TMI! For eff’s sake, TMI!

    That out of the way, that is a very pretty picture.


    • Hey I meant “peed my pants”, what were you thinking? :P


      • LOL Suuuure you did. ;P


  2. That’s an amazing shot. I can’t wait to go there.


    • It’s be like going to Vegas :)


      • But Vegas OF DEATH! Gamble your life why dontcha.


      • Now I want a Vegas of Death.


  3. Geeze… Color me impressed with that screenshot. I have a feeling I’ll be taking quite a few of my own as soon as I find a little nook with an incredible vista of Nar Shaddaa.

    I have to admit, what I have seen of the cities in SWTOR suggests to me that BioWare might be the first developer to really get a cityscape right in an MMO. For one, they actually look like damn cities.

    I don’t think I’ve ever waited for a game with as much anticipation as I have for SWTOR. I am so ready for this game to be installed on my pc, ready for me to jump on and roll a character.


    • That’s exactly it. I haven’t yet seen an MMO that actually features cities that feel or look…like cities. And by that, I mean modern/futuristic cities. I doubt it’s for the lack of trying, as I don’t think the technology was even in place for that to happen until fairly recently. In any case, Nar Shaddaa looks fantastic, and I can’t wait until I see Coruscant. If they even make it look a fraction like the way it does in the movies, it’s going be great.


  4. yeah its so bladerunner. nice to know that theres another game that will look great coming up, and not some dreary and bland version of a previous game.

    rift may look smooth, polished, colourful, but the designs are so bland and unimaginative. I need me some swtor or gw2 design.


    • Yeah, not only that, I definitely need me some sci-fi environments. I love the fantasy genre, but it will be nice to see some huge, towering skyscrapers instead of castles, cottages and rolling green hills for a change.


  5. Whadda you mean futuristic? Have you forgotten the opening sequence?
    Long ago…


    • Y’all know what I mean. Furturistic looking:P



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers