h1

Cryptic For Sale

May 18, 2011

To be honest, I’m not all that torn up about the news regarding Atari’s decision to sell Cryptic. Sure, I’m a little sad because anything that results in instability can’t be good –  but certainly I’m relieved that many of the concerns earlier were simply blown out of proportion, that Cryptic isn’t the sad image of “the kicked puppy standing in the rain” and everything is business-as-usual.

I’m still looking on the bright side. Not that I have anything against Atari, but it’s probably accurate to say that many of the wonky decisions I’ve doubted in the past have in fact come from the publisher and not Cryptic. I have also seen how the developer has chafed under their thumb. So frankly, if Atari currently wants to shift their focus away from development and expand into “casual online and mobile games” instead, I see this as the best for everyone…just my two cents.

After all, things have also been going well for Cryptic lately; based on what I’ve seen from Star Trek Online, they work their tushies off over there. At this juncture, I think what the company needs is a partner that will actually take pride in their work, as well as the resources to keep doing what they do best.

As long as things continue as normal (it appears to be so) my support remains with the dev teams and their games and future projects, regardless of where the wind takes them. Here’s hoping someone out there will recognize the talent and potential that Cryptic has, because they do good work and ’cause they’ve got streeeeength of the souuuul, and no one’s gonna bend or break — okay, sorry, couldn’t resist.

Best of luck, Cryptic. May you find a buyer in good time and keep moving forward.

9 comments

  1. [...] special thanks to the MMO Gamer Chick for pointing this [...]


  2. I’m actually kind of hopeful at this. I played STO at launch and was highly disappointed. And since I finally kicked my “WoW habit,” I’m in the market for a new full time game. I’ve heard good things about the direction of STO recently, but I’ll wait and see what happens with Cryptic before I dive back in.


    • Cryptic’s been making strides lately, especially with STO. Personally, I don’t know who I would want to buy them, but as long as it’s a company with interest in the development and future of MMOs, that will be great. Someone who could give Cryptic the support and resources and understands the MMO market.


  3. [...] been noticing a handful of posts about this around on some blogs. Oddly though, I’m getting the impression these posts are being made because it “should [...]


  4. Really crossing my fingers for everybody at Cryptic and hoping Neverwinter isn’t affected!


    • According to that thread in the forums, right now everything is still running as usual, and all the teams are continuing working on their projects…including Neverwinter. Joy! :D


  5. When I heard the news I thought of you, I know how much you enjoy STO. Hope it works out for the company, I was going to play around with the trial again this week, I might just hold off though.


    • I hope it works out for Crytpic too, they’re still doing quite well so I hope it won’t be long.


  6. [...] a couple weeks ago, I wrote a post about what I thought of Atari’s decision to sell Cryptic, and held out hope that the [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers