h1

Here’s All I’m Allowed To Say…

June 17, 2011

…There is a game testing program, and I am in said game testing program! (I just found out I can definitely say as much without getting into trouble, but that’s about it!)

Anyway, as it actually happened last weekend, I hope those expecting my usual weekly write-up and thoughts on the Friday Star Wars: The Old Republic update today can understand why I’ll no longer be doing that anymore, and no more SWTOR commentary from me in general. I take NDAs very seriously, and as such, I’ve decided the most obvious, safest, and simplest way to not break them is to avoid getting myself into discussions related directly to SWTOR all together.

I’m gonna miss them, but you can understand why I really don’t want to do anything to screw this up! Best of luck to others seeking beta invites!

40 comments

  1. Gahhhhhh I want to be in the beta so bad… if only to see if my poor laptop will run the game decently enough!


  2. I’m not following…what beta test is this, again? I mean…just a hint…come on…


  3. With as much whinging as I have spewed about said online game color me jealous. Fortunately my wife got me a new toy to dampen the jealousy. ;) Congo rats.


    • Hey, new tablet ranks up there too for cause of celebration and excitement! Congrats on your new toy!


  4. Going to initiate my Seething out of combat skill to regenerate the health i just lost :/


  5. I am so happy for you. That rocks!!


  6. Congrats :D Yay


  7. Grats on the beta invite! Count me among the extremely jealous. :)


  8. Is there a spousal leveling contract here, or just spousal envy and sneak peeks over your shoulder? Enjoy!


    • I think Mr. MMOGC is too obsessed with playing Fallout New Vegas these days to notice what I do in my spare gaming time :\


  9. die in a fire.


    • Sorry, Hunter, but it would be unethical to make any more bets with you!


  10. Thank you, all! I admit I’m psyched :D


  11. Gratz! That’s awesome :D


  12. Congrats, i’m sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhh OOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH jealous………must….resist…the dark side…and find my happy place. But i hope you enjoy it ^_^ i’m happy for you and glad someone i know is going to see the game, i can halfway live vicariously through you, even if we cant discuss SWTOR anymore…


  13. Hmm i do not agree with this, i want more Rift blogs from you, those are brilliant…

    i can be pursuaded to take over the burden of beta testing tho.

    nah, im happy for you, its a shame you cant write about it, i always enjoy your writing.


    • Don’t worry, you will see more Rift posts from me :D I’m still playing, and I’m actually looking forward to the new Waves of Madness update thing that’s slated for next week.


  14. Envy leads to anger…


  15. I hate you…… Ha just kiddin i got the email but was rejected after completing the survey….. I was raging and had drafted a blog post…… I wont be publishing it lol well done though cant think of a better person id want in there having a potential input.


    • I saw a follow up note on the TOR forums that those survey emails were something that even if you were rejected you are still qualified for game testing, and those surveys were only to a “Research Program” and not the general testing program itself anyway. So take heart! Looks like you still have a chance!


      • correct I got an email yesterday :)


  16. OK. So while it would frakking kewl to get in this, I have to say am not eager to play SWTOR’s beta. Playing Rift’s beta spoiled Freemarch a little bit, when DGF and I started playing “for real.”

    I will miss your Friday Updates, much more coherent IMHO than the SWTOR site itself. Congratulations! :)


    • Thanks! And I know what you mean, seeing as you and your gf play every MMO together. I’m lucky my husband is currently engrossed in the Xbox360.


  17. You should take it seriously, but I am glad that you got a beta invite…I’m sure your experience there will benefit both you and the developers…Enjoy! :)


  18. Congratulations! :D


  19. Congratulations on the invite, seriously. I hope your input helps toward making SWTOR as polished as possible for launch. Keep your eyes out for even the tiniest bugs for all of us who will be waiting for launch to play — I know I’m grateful to any testers who help to make my future game experience a refined one.

    I have to admit, I’ll miss the weekly SWTOR assessments here. However, I do fully understand why you won’t be posting them any longer (and I don’t blame you one bit [who would?]).

    Enjoy the experience, and good luck with it all.


    • Thank you! I’ll always do my very best to be a good beta tester. But yeah, I’m going to miss our SWTOR discussions most of all! Oh well, when the NDA drops!


  20. That’s hot!


  21. Is TOR having a consistent beta program now or do they still invite people in segments for short term testing?
    I’ve been in 2 of those short term testings for about a week each but its been a while so just curious if they’ve opened it up any further.


  22. Is 29 comments (now 30) a new record? How much alcohol does it take to get you to talk? ;) Enjoy your time in Beta. Get the game ready for launch!


  23. Nice, congrats.


  24. So freaking jealous but at the same time I didn’t sign up for beta not to spoil the game…

    I would go on to say this brings me closer to the dark side but I’m already there.


  25. I’m neither jealous or envious. You deserve it as one their biggest contributing fun and best i can say is have fun testing.

    As always don’t over do it and don’t burn ya self out but do lean to the dark side of course lol.


  26. Me? Go to the dark side? Too late, I’m already there with Lono :D


    • But is the dark side more powerful…?

      No. But more seductive….

      Ha ha, this is one of the few places I can bust that out and know that everyone catches the reference :D


      • The “but” should be in square brackets, btw. Luke didn’t actually say that, iirc :P


  27. Congrats on the invite. We are all dripping with envy!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,305 other followers