h1

How Would You Make Real Life More Like An MMO

July 11, 2011

Time for a Monday Musing.

Back at PAX East earlier this year, I think one of coolest events I attended was the panel hosted by MMORPG.com, the one featuring some of the industry’s best and brightest answering audience questions about MMOs and the future of online gaming. I recall one fan asking something along the lines of, “How would you make real life more like an MMO if you could?” and Scott Hartsman of Trion answered, “More lives” whereas Curt Schilling of 38 Studios said, “Hot elf chicks”.

Seriously, though, what an interesting question. What feature from an MMO would you bring to real life if you could?

For me, as I finally capped out all my professions in Rift this weekend, it occurred to me what my own answer would be — crafting.

The irony, of course, is that I am not particularly a fan of in-game crafting at all, as evidenced by the months and months it took for me to finally max out my foraging and apothecary skills. It’s not that I hate crafting, it’s more that I’d much rather quest and level. Fighting through an army of undead just to pick a flower on the far side kills my groove and just isn’t my idea of a swell time. As a result, working on crafting is usually the last thing I do, only once I’ve hit the level cap.

But strangely enough, I can see the appeal of it if it were real life. More than anything, I think blacksmithing would be amazing if it worked the MMO way. And I do mean the whole shebang, including going out with my pickaxe, finding some random nodes with a special radar, stuffing lumps of ore into a satchel and bringing it back to a forge to melt it down and craft myself a big ass two-handed great sword.

In fact, weaponsmithing the real way is actually something I’d love to get into, if only I had the means and time, and then I’d learn to use my wares. A seemingly esoteric interest, but maybe it’s the artist in me — there is just something incredibly gratifying to me about the idea of creating something from the ground up, using raw materials. It’s also about making something original and one-of-a-kind. And traditionalist that I am, I am big on doing it with your own two hands.

I muse about MMO blacksmithing because I’ve always felt that it comes closest to that, and unlike consumables and intangible enchantments, you can also display the things you make on a wall and make chitchat about it when company comes over. And sorry, while being able to sew an enchanted robe or concoct a health potion is totally cool and useful and all, it’s just not the same as being able to say you made your own magic sword.

27 comments

  1. 1. Draenei chicks
    2. Tiger taming
    3. Simple Auction House Economy
    4. Flying mounts.
    5. Moar Epics

    ……..That is all.


    • Okay, yeah damn…pet taming and flying mounts. I could get on board with that.


  2. Magic, dude! Seriously! Creating food out of thin air? Teleportation? Nevermind the fun we’d all have throwing fireballs all over the place!


    • Hmm, magic would be fun…problem is, I don’t know if I can trust all you other folks not to abuse those fireballs and polymorphs! :P


  3. Ooh, ooh, I would love to see a quest based job system in the real world. Repeatable quests and so forth… I would totally grind money and such to make my house payments and all. Technically that’s how it works already, but hey… ooh, now that I think about it, a quest log would be great!

    If you’re going to take up blacksmithing, let me know and I’ll join you. I’m not especially strong, but I figure that I’ll get better at it with time. Plus, blacksmithing is one of those things I’ve always been interested in.


    • Oh yeah, speaking of which, money drops in real life would be cool too, if not for the whole murdering something for it part.

      Alas, I say I want to pick up blacksmithing, but in reality, I’d probably not be strong enough for it either. Same deal with my interest in auto shop. I have to start working out harder and build those muscles.


      • I dunno… you’d get muscles from blacksmithing… *shrugs*

        Also, I’d like to be able to swap components on my vehicle using a drag-and-drop interface. :P


  4. Of course, in real life it takes far longer than thirty seconds to make even a non-magic sword. And you’ll end up with Swarzenegger arms.


  5. Equality. Everyone starts out equal and advances according to how much hard work they do.

    Also, no need for sleep. I’d love that in the real world.


    • Oooh, yes, and that makes me think of another one — being able to sprint everywhere forever without getting tired!


  6. I bit a tough question to think about. But i guess i can only really think of two things. I’d probably like to reset my skill set as in like crafting and change to another skill set or one i should of pursed. I’d probably like to have had a alt, for the reason to be able to start over fresh and make the change to redo things thats impossible to do with real life. But how the hell would having a alt ever work in real life without dying and reincarnating maybe i’d unsure how that would work.


    • +skills whenever I get myself in trouble would be awesome. Like pouring all my points into auto repair if my car breaks down, for instance :P


  7. The strangest thing, for me, is that I loathe cooking in real life, but I absolutely love it in LotRO.


    • I used to hate cooking in real life too, but lately I’ve been loving it. I think it’s because of the new kitchen :P


  8. Track Humanoids
    >
    Shadowstep
    >
    Ambush

    Nobody would ever get the drop on me again. But I wouldn’t want people to function like MMOs. I imagine people in real life carry better loot. (Sarcasm is a wonderful thing.)

    Other than that, I wouldn’t mind if skinning and tanning massive amounts of hides was really as easy as wringing my hands together like an evil genius and — *poof* — stack of leather; the real process is much more time consuming.

    Oh yeah, and life would be much simpler if people could get into a devastating car wreck and just pop a potion and munch on some Dragonfin Angelfish and be all better.

    P.S. – If trees really died like the tenders in WoW, I would probably die laughing if I ever went to a logging plant.

    I know, I’m going to Hell.


    • If tenders in WoW really existed, I would be afraid to go to sleep at night. Those things are creepy, dude! I wouldn’t want the trees in my backyard to come waddling up to my window and peering in with those faces of theirs! I’d gladly head out during the day with my axe and turn them into kindling :P


  9. Hot elf chicks, most of them with a male brain… I must say I completely agree with the developpers :-)


  10. I want floating quest markers over people. That way I would know which people to talk to in order to get the sweet loot.


    • Also, name plates would be nice because I can never remember anyone’s name.


      • Nameplates, god yes please. I can’t remember anyone’s name either.


      • I have a problem with remembering names too. Glad I’m not the only one. None of the tips to help have worked for me.


  11. Actually, you can make your life into an MMO..sort of:

    http://www.chorewars.com/


  12. Actually, you can make your life into an MMO…sort of:

    http://www.chorewars.com/



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,327 other followers