h1

Is A 3DS In My Future?

August 8, 2011

In the wake of a recent price drop announcement, I have been really considering. When I first experienced the Nintendo 3DS, I thought as many other people did, “Hey, this thing is pretty damn cool!” But the price has always held me back, not to mention none of the titles in the initial line-up of games jumped out and me and begged me to buy.

But on June 19th, that changed. Enter Legend of Zelda: The Ocarina of Time 3D, or the remake of game that changed my childhood forever, turning me into “girl-who-simply-plays-whatever-the-hell-her-brother-buys-and-plays” to someone who appreciated games for all the effort and value they represented — details like gameplay mechanics, the depth of design, and most of all music and sound. I just really loved that game, and I loved my N64. So it is uplifting when I see other N64 encores on the horizon, like Star Fox.

Okay, so I won’t deny part of the appeal of the 3DS is being able to relive some of my childhood nostalgia. And while $250 is a little steep for those beloved childhood memories, $170 on the other hand…maaaaaaaaybe.

In any case, the price drop has my attention, and at this point, the future still looks promising with the potential for new games. So, while I’d been sitting on the proverbial fence for months now, I would not be surprised at all if this weekend I suddenly find myself a proud owner of a certain new portable gaming console, just saying!

My only concern, however, is the 3D feature. I am aware that the system is completely playable with 3D turned off, but hey, it being the main selling point I would want to make the most out of it. 3DS owners, feel free to chime in on this. I do wonder if reports of headaches and eye strain have been exaggerated in the media, but I know everyone is different. Myself, I experienced a wicked case of double vision the last time I was play testing a unit at a demo station — expected, since I’m so near sighted in one eye as for it to be legally blind.

But then again it was kinda fun because it was like drunken game of Pilot Wings. In a stroke of irony, I may just have to wear glasses when I play.

13 comments

  1. I bought a 3DS, but so far it is only an expensive bauble. The poor battery life means that I can’t throw it in my bag and carry it around for a week like I can with the DS Lite. And I have purchased all of one full game for the system (Ocarina).

    For all of that, I actually like the thing. I got the two 3D Classic games (Excitebike and Xevious) and I’m looking forward to the free games they are releasing for early adopters. You will probably enjoy it a lot.

    I’m just not positive that it will get as much play as my DS.


    • I have heard about the poor battery life…do you know if it drains just as badly when in sleep mode? I recharge pretty much all my devices, e.g. phone, tablet, mp3 player, ebook reader, etc. every night anyway, so in general battery life isn’t an issue as long as it can get through a single day with moderate use.

      I used to have a DS Lite, and I ended up not playing it as much because there weren’t enough games I liked to keep me interested. That is my concern with the 3DS as well, but already in the foreseeable future there are upcoming games I know I will like. Maybe it won’t be an issue for 3DS…after all, even if they just kept encoring N64 games I think I’d be happy :P


      • It has about 3 hours of serious play in it. So if you treat it like a smartphone, you should be fine.


  2. If you’re going to buy, there’s a rumor that Wal-Mart (I think?) is going to cut the price ahead of the official price cut. That means that you can buy a 3DS, run home and log into the e-store and get the goodies (20 free older games) that early adopters get.

    http://www.joystiq.com/2011/08/05/rumor-walmart-dropping-3ds-price-early/

    You’ve got a pretty small window to pull this off in though (2 days, it looks like).

    Assuming its even true.


    • Apparently, Costcos all across Canada already did the price drop too for almost a couple weeks now. Unfortunately, I don’t think US Costcos followed suit.


  3. ;)


  4. I just “pre-ordered” an August 12 price drop edition from Amazon this past weekend. Once I heard that a new Animal Crossing was in the works for 3DS combined with the price drop, that was all it took to motivate me. I’ll probably also go ahead and get the Zelda game because everyone seems to love it and I’ve never played it. :)

    Supposedly, you can adjust the 3D view to be more or less 3D, so once you get it set for your personal comfort, the eyestrain should be less of an issue..or so I hope! Nevertheless, I’m not planning on giving up my DSi anytime soon if nothing else but for the longer battery life.


    • Awesome, I would be all over Animal Crossing too. In fact, thanks to your comment I’m going to go look it up right after I reply :D

      Anyway, it’s good to know so many others who have a 3DS/getting a 3DS also have a DS and are still planning on getting a lot of use out of it. I have a DS too, and though they are different, I wondered if two portable Nintendo systems would be redundant.


  5. I’m one of the early adopters of the 3ds, bought it the week it came out. Been also playing Zelda the past few days and since I have a few eye troubles myself as well as being one of those who 3d movies gives headache to, I figure I’ll give you my personall experience.

    First! I can see the 3D! Very well at that! Because there’s no glasses involved I don’t get the headaches I get when I see 3d movies so that’s a big plus. So seeing the 3d without the need for glasses or headaches is a huge plus for me.

    Other upside, the 3d effect is very neat and Ocarina of time looks gorgeous playing with it enabled.

    The big downside though is that you need to hold the 3DS in a stable position while playing. If you move the console a little while playing it can screw up the 3D effect and make some items apears in double. Especially toward the edges of the screen. It may sound simple but holding a handheld still during an hour is not that easy.

    Finaly top tip for holding the 3DS, closer is better! I tried all sorts of positioning for the console and found out that holding closer to me, like 10-15 inches was more comfortable and gave a better 3d effect than holding it further away.


    • That’s probably what I was doing wrong at the store, holding it too close. When I play handhelds I’m used to practically hold the thing up to my face. Oops.

      And I know what you mean about holding something still for a long period of time. I used to play my old DS Lite before bed, lying down on my back with it, and after a while my wrists and forearms will just get numb and I wouldn’t even realize it.


      • Start far away and move it closer. There’s some experimentation going on but I found out a position I’m fine with at long last :)


  6. ………..I’d still rather just buy an N64 and the half a billion, like EVERY GOOD GAME that ever came out for it…Most specifically…Star Wars Rogue Squadron, Shadows of the Empire, Ocarina of Time,Star Fox! Mannnn i loooved me some Ocarina of time, i spent every day of my life for 2 months trying to psyche myself up to beat the Shadow Temple…. *shivers* I’ve never been so scared as to those invisible spider thingsssss, ldfskgjdlkfjgldfkjglfdjglkjgljfdl



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,415 other followers