h1

3DS Adventures: PUPPY SHENANIGANS!!!

August 17, 2011

No surprise here, but I purchased myself a Nintendo 3DS last weekend when the $80 price drop went into effect and also picked up a few games, including The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. So far, I’m loving my new little gadget. So much of it is gimmicky, but screw it, I’m enjoying it all while it lasts.

And speaking of enjoying something while it lasts, I also picked up Nintendogs + Cats.

Let me just make something clear: I already have two dogs — that is, two real dogs, a couple of adorable Cavalier King Charles spaniels that I just love to death so you can say I’m already quite well acquainted with all the joys of dog ownership. I don’t really need a pet simulator any more than I need an instruction manual on how to put on my socks, so then why am I so in love with this freakin’ idiotic game!?!?

Well, it definitely has its charm in the short-term and in time may feel like a glorified 3DS tech demo, but for now I’m completely taken with my Nintendog (a Cav, of course; as if there was any other choice for me). The game’s certainly good at igniting my inner 10-year-old, and of course, there’s that word again — gimmicky. Maybe I’ve had my head in the sand, but one thing I had absolutely no idea about and was delighted to learn was the 3DS’ use of Augmented Reality cards, so I wasted no time whipping out the AR camera and putting my Nintendog in all sorts of precarious situations.

Watching my puppy chase his tail around in circles on my desk in eye-popping 3D is not only super trippy but also evidently a great way to waste half the morning.

I am a sad panda because the cool 3D effect doesn’t show up in pictures.

Waiter, this is unacceptable! There’s a Kirby in my cup! And he just crapped out a puppy!

In a Luigi hat, d’awwwwwwwwwww…

My other (real) dog Mara is the prissy one who would have chewed up the AR card before putting up with any of my crap, whereas Strider (the real dog in the above photo) is the smart one who knows as long as he shuts up and stays still, the faster he’ll get things over with and the sooner his crazy lady owner will leave him the hell alone. Which is probably exactly what he was thinking when I took that picture.

14 comments

  1. That’s pretty cool. I am leery of the 3D effect myself. Tried it in the store with Lego Star Wars, but couldn’t imagine staring at the screen for very long. It made my eyes hurt, lol.


    • Ironically, I’ve come to love the 3D feature, and mostly because I don’t normally use it. The 3D slider lets me turn it on and off whenever I please, and I always just turn it on whenever I know there’s a really cool part in the game (especially in Ocarina of Time). It really does look amazing. But usually, I play it in 2D. When I do play in 3D for long periods of time, I wear my prescription glasses. I get no headaches that way, presumably because my screwed up eyes aren’t straining themselves anymore.


      • Well, as you know I always wear prescription glasses, so that wasn’t a real help for me. I am curious how they get the effect to work.


      • Wow, seriously, I do not remember you having glasses at all. You must wear very unnoticeable glasses, or I’m just so used to equating your face with your avatar now after noting the uncanny resemblance :P


      • lol, yes they’re subtle, I suppose. But they don’t have glasses in the 25th century.


  2. HA! That’s excellent. I had no idea the DS had AR apps available. I’m hoping the Vita does as well, because I think THAT is an underserved opportunity for some cool games.


    • Okay, glad I wasn’t the only one then not to have known. Nintendo must not have spent much publicizing or marketing the 3DS’s AR games and capabilities.


      • I’m still waiting for the over-the-eye AR screens, like I saw so many years ago on Scientific American Frontiers.



    • Sweet video! He needs to be better at the transitioning though :P


  3. Cute pics, cute puppies!!!

    My brother had me try this on his 3DS and it was too cute! Loved it!


    • By any chance, did he show you the pug puppy? :D


  4. I haven’t played any virtual pet games ever since I got my dog. I’d be afraid that I’m pay more attention to my e-pets and end of feeling very very guilty.

    I’ve found that I have to take advantage of the slider quite a lot. I like playing Zelda with the slider turned all the way up. But some games I turn down almost all the way or off. But I’ve found that I enjoy the 3D effect more than I expected.

    Also, check out OK Go’s All Is Not Lost video. Damn song is stuck in my head and the video is really fun.


    • Good/bad thing about Nintendogs is that it’s hard to neglect your own pets when it only gives you about 45 min-1 hour play a day, just because of the way the game is set up. You can only teach your dog 3 tricks a day and enter into each competition twice, for example. I suppose in the end it’s good, because the game is better in small doses anyway. In fact, at the moment Zelda sucks waaaaay more of my time right now than any doggie sim LOL!

      Awesome thing is, real dogs come up to you when they want attention, like mine and I’ll always take playing with them over any game :D



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers