h1

In The Fall My Fancies Turn…

September 15, 2011

It’s that time of the year again, when the old MMO fatigue settles in and I climb back on that Xbox360 wagon to start lusting for the myriad of AAA single-player games coming out in the fall.

In fact, it’s already started. I don’t think I’ve touched an MMO in the last two weeks thanks to Deus Ex: Human Revolution, which is one of those games you tell yourself you’ll just play for a couple hours but then hey why not just another mission and I’ll be done but oh first I should clear out this area and do all the side missions and before you know it the whole day is gone.

When it comes to finishing single-player games, I’m also a bit on the slow side. Yes, I sometimes feel the need to draw out the experience and savor every moment when it comes to SP games, but it’s also mostly because I — *groan* — have to share. I realize in my household things are a bit unconventional in that I’m the one who does all the game buying (plus I love hunting for game deals), and it never fails — I pop in a game, my husband sees me playing and “steals” it. Please tell me this is a common issue for a lot of people, right?

It means that given this fall’s game release schedule, I’m going to be buried under an avalanche. Until Star Wars: The Old Republic, don’t be surprised to see single-player and Xbox games dominate my time  — Gears of War 3, Arkham City and Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim already on my must-have list, Dead Island, Modern Warfare 3 and Assassin’s Creed: Revelations on the will-get-when-there’s-a-sale list, not to mention a whole other bunch on the wait-and-see list.

21 comments

  1. My wife’s not a gamer, so I don’t have to worry about that. I’m only interested in one game from your 360 list: Arkham City, and no I still haven’t finished Asylum yet.


    • There needs to be more games with MP/co-op features. It’s worse now that my Xbox I brought with me from Canada has crapped out and died the RROD.

      And I have only one thing to say about your Arkham Asylum unfinished status — DUDE!


      • I know, I know. I keep meaning to buckle down and finish it but there’s so many distractions. I seem have a one to two week window when I first start playing a game where if I don’t finish it then it won’t happen. ME 1/2 and Red Dead were all games that I bought and played nothing but until I finished them. L.A. Noire I started and then took a break to play Portal 2, and I’ll probably never get back to it.


      • I’m the same way. Once I put down a game to play another, chances of me going back to the first game is practically nil. Once the window is gone, it’s gone forever.


  2. Yeah i’ve been feeling the itch to try out some single player, deus ex for instance.


    • Deus Ex is excellent. Of course, I think it will depend on your style of play, and it’s a game that one takes a while to “get the hang of”, but after you start speaking its language DX really takes off. The only negative I’ve heard so far is regarding the game’s bosses (and yes, they are pretty fucking annoying) but the majority of the game is solid and very impressive.

      I may write a post next week when I’m done the whole game.


      • A thousand times this: the game’s bosses (and yes, they are pretty fucking annoying).

        If you don’t like boss battles, I’d say don’t get it. I knew about them and thought, “Oh how bad can they be.”


      • I don’t think they’re horrible, but yeah, they just don’t feel like part of the game. I guess I differ from you because I still think the game is worth it though. I would warn anyone thinking of getting this of the boss fights, but even if you hate them but think you can tolerate them, I would get the game.


  3. First off, Battlefield 3 is the one you want to play ;) Bobby Kotick needs a reality check! :)

    Secondly, I’d give anything to have my wife steal my games to play them. Consider your situation an Enigma.

    Yeah. I’m kinda hoping TOR is a Dec release. I need time for Skyrim, GoW3 and BF3.!


    • I hope TOR has a Dec release too because oh god if it releases in November I’m screwed. I expect to be spending many many MANY hours on Skyrim, been looking forward to that game for a long time.


  4. Yay Xbox!!!

    Wait a minute….

    Boo Microsoft.


    • There will be a lot of Xbox action this fall and winter, don’t you worry…


  5. Around here I’d say that playing single-player experiences becomes something we do together. Usually one person will play while the other watches and offers comments or help. It’s actually quite enjoyable!

    And don’t feel bad at all – it took me about 100 hours to get every little item in Zelda: Twilight Princess! :P


    • There’s truth to that, I would have to agree! I like watching my husband play games on the Xbox as well, it’s a lot more interacting than watching him play on the PC with his headphones on and doing this own thing. The thing is, I need to have played the game already or that section of the game, because I don’t like spoilers :P


  6. Also, slightly disappointed that this blog post does not refer to sexual preference.


    • Only you would think that just from the title :P


  7. Yeah, we have to buy two copies of most things. I can justify it by saying we have two computers ;)


    • We haven’t had to go so far with single-player games. Though when I played Dragon Age: Origins on the 360 I was so in love with it I made him get it on the PC so I didn’t have to share, and that was the closest we’ve ever come :P


  8. Yeah, BF3 is the one to go for. Dead Island is, surprisingly good, despite all the bugs AND supports COOP play via LAN or INTERNET.

    Deus Ex is just class…


    • Perfect description for DX. Everything in that game just came together so well, I haven’t been impressed by an RPG like that in a long time.


  9. This has very little to do with the content in this post, now that I’ve had a chance to read it all, but, autumn is one of my very favorite seasons. Autumn leading into winter is nirvana. The turning of the leaves, the browns and golds giving way to white – it’s so wicked.

    Don’t know why I felt the urge to comment on it; maybe it was the picture underneath your title.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers