h1

Riftshot Of The Day: Not Fair, I Want What She’s Wearing…

October 3, 2011

When it comes to my Rift veteran rewards, I love the skirt in the back of my Centurion chest piece, but to be honest, I would still so much have preferred the gold bikini version…

Starting with Update 1.5 that recently went live, being a veteran of the game meant getting some pretty nice rewards, including stuff like several new pieces for my wardrobe and Jeeves my personal vendor. It’s the kind of fluff I love. It also reminded me that I’ve been subscriber continuously since launch, never once having to pine for more content in part because the hardworking Trion team is constantly churning out those updates.

So it is a little sad when I think about the inevitability of my Rift sub coming to an end — if not now, very soon. And not just because the Star Wars: The Old Republic launch is around the corner. Fall 2011 is also the season of single-player games for me, and as well in my personal life, a time for getting ready for some major changes to come. I’m proud to support Trion, to be a Rift veteran, and no matter what, it’s always a pleasure to adventure in Telara.

19 comments

  1. I really loved my stint in Rift. If it were not for TOR beta, I would still be playing. Every time you post about Rift I realize how much I miss the game. I know you are not a big PvPer but I loved Rifts open world PvP. Best since DAoC.

    Really what it comes down to is I need to stop sleeping. I think I can pull it off. I mean, maybe our next step forward in evolution is to drop the sleep requirement, and I’m the one to do it. Me. (I think I’ve almost convinced myself. How exciting!)


    • Yeah, the TOR beta does tend to make everything else fade into the background… :)


  2. Oddly enough, I just recently got back into Rift. The 1.5 update made me curious to log in again, and I found myself having fun again.

    I hit level 30, ~buffs his fingernails on his chest~

    Yeah, I’m kind of a big deal…

    But not big enough of a deal to get into the SWTOR beta and I’ve got another month before Skyrim drops, so I’m going to keep my sub going for now.


    • My current Rift sub is still going, but this is probably going to be the last month. Speaking of November, there’s a lot coming up next month. You mentioned Skyrim, and I’ll be all over that. I’m also still planning on doing nanowrimo this year, hope I can manage it.


  3. […] I want to echo MMOGC’s thoughts that while it’s bittersweet that my time with the game has come to a close, I’ll treasure my time spent there.  Props to my wonderful guild, The Watch, who provided me with many a night of entertaining chatter and high-level adventures.  See you in the next game! Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted on Monday, October 3rd, 2011 at 2:14 pm and posted in RIFT. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. « Fallen Earth: One man’s junk is another man’s fortress […]


  4. Nooooooo, not the gold bikini! I was so happy that we got the male armor, but I’m one of those people that prefer armor be more practical-looking and less sexy sexy. I guess Trion should have let us choose. :)


    • I like sexy sexy :D As impractical as that gold bikini armor is, I’ve always admired it ever since I first noticed the female guards wearing it in Meridian.


  5. Would love to read more on your thoughts of swtor :)


    • When the NDA drops or when the game launches, you can be sure I will be writing a lot of SWTOR posts :)


  6. That is your inner Princess Leia speaking.


    • I never thought about it that way, but you know what, I bet you’re right…


  7. The bikini would have been sexy!!


  8. I commented on this on my blog too.

    It also carries over to the Guardian side :-(


    • I personally prefer what the female guards wear too. Impractical, sure, but I think the design of it is quite nice. Slightly irked as well that they didn’t give female characters the female version or at least let us choose.


  9. You’ve been subbed up to Rift for over a year now, correct? That’s a hell of a long run on a game for me. The only game I’ve ever played continuously for longer than that is LoTRO, personally. Any game that gives me two or three solid months is quite good by my standards.


    • Hmm, has the game even been out a year? A few months left to go, I think, but in any case, yeah I’ve been subbed continuously since then. Quite a long run indeed, but I did tell myself from now on if I get myself into another sub MMO, I’ll do my best to commit to it, at least to level cap and experience endgame before I quit.


  10. can’t believe its fall already; all the good games are gonna come out now :)


  11. The female Guardian guard NPCs have the best loincloth-armor too. I mean, don’t get me wrong, the cuirass for both factions is actually rather nice. I like the panel of ribbed cloth that’s been added to the decolletage-area of the female Defiant cuirass, being able to dye it separately is a great style point, and a lot of fun!

    I just wish that the skirt/loincloths were set as a separate visible items, like a belt graphic, so they could be swapped out for something more attractive, or befitting the Calling you play.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers