h1

NaNoWriMo: Done!

December 1, 2011

Now that November is over and the final month of the year is upon us, I’m happy to report that my first attempt at NaNoWriMo was a success. 53,874 is the final word count, or at least that’s what it says on my word processor, and I’m sticking with that.

I’ve made it, and at 11:59pm last night I was giving myself a mental pat on on the back for a job well done, but somehow I still feel like I missed my mark. I may have pounded out the 50K words, but ultimately I didn’t finish my novel, and in fact I think there’s about another third to go in this story. So even though I’m done, I still don’t exactly feel that I’m “done” done, and I don’t think I will be truly satisfied until I finish for real — and *sigh*, who knows when that will be.

Do I think I’ll participate in NaNoWriMo again in later years? Definitely. Though, I had no idea how time-consuming it was until I actually did it for myself. In truth, I really shouldn’t have done it this year. It was a crazy month, and in my stubbornness to reach my NaNo goal, I’m sure I overextended — sleep was lost, art commissions are a little behind, household chores were neglected, other hobbies took a backseat, etc. In the future, I’m going to have to think long and hard and evaluate my November schedule before I make the commitment again.

Still, my first ever NaNo was a wonderful experience. No only did it give me a chance to write, it also taught me a a great deal about myself. Apparently, having a deadline is the key. It’s something I’m going to keep in mind for December, or in the new year, if I want to finish my novel. But for now, it’s time to relax.

9 comments

  1. Congratulations! The deadline of course if really the whole point of NaNoWriMo. You get a target date and community support and hopefully it’s enough to motivate you to do what you always wanted to do.

    No comes the fun part: rewrites. ;)

    Put it an a drawer for a month first though.


    • Yep, deadline and community support. Those two things were the most effect motivators for me. I had some really amazing writing buddies on my list too, whenever I saw their word counts go up, it would inspire me to write :)


  2. Congratulations! I’d like to try it at least once, but so far I’ve never had anything like the needed spare time.


    • Yeah definitely try at least once. I mean, you can’t really “lose” in this, even the folks I know who don’t reach the 50k goal come away happy that they participated. And for some, they get into it and they find themselves really involved.


  3. Ha I lated for fourteen days and then got writers block combined with some story issues. Ended up with just over 13k


    • Ugh, I hate writer’s block. I’m having it now, and it’s preventing me from finishing the novel. But it may also be because NaNo’s over and I just burned out or don’t feel the urgent drive anymore. At least my block hit after November was over.

      But you did a great job too, 13K is nothing to scoff at. And I read your work on your blog, it looked great!


  4. Congratulations on reaching the target. And good luck finishing the book!


  5. I wrote like ten hours on the final day to ensure that I also finished in time, but I have no regrets. It was such a great feeling of accomplishment.

    Congrats to you! It is such a big deal to do something of that magnitude.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,347 other followers