h1

MMOGamerMom

April 3, 2012

Hello readers (that is, if I even have any left), long time no see. Even wordpress has gone and changed its interface on me and I’m left here stumbling around like an idiot getting used to this posting thing again. Amazing how much can change in a month when you’re not paying attention. I don’t even want to know how far I am behind when it comes to what’s happening in the gaming world.

As you know, Mr. GC and I welcomed our first child back in February and we are as happy as can be! A month later, I’m still amazed when I look at her. It takes my breath away thinking about how much I am in love with this little tiny person. And yet, it is so true what they say — a new baby changes everything. I knew this already, of course, but I mean, wow. They really did mean everything in your life..let alone my gaming habits.

In truth, my life was turned upside down the moment that stick turned blue. I was ecstatic…and terrified (oh, who am I kidding, I STILL feel that way). Long time readers might remember last summer when my blogging activity dipped for a while (well, I’ll tell you it wasn’t just because of SWTOR beta!) I must have spent two months flat on my back, too nauseous with morning sickness (which should really be renamed to “all-day sickness”), playing MMOs and watching my toon bounce up and down made me motion sick (how the hell does that work?!) and most mornings my fingers were too stiff with carpal tunnel (another one of those joys of pregnancy no one tells you about) to even grip a mouse. Towards the end of my pregnancy, I could barely sit in front of my computer for more than a half hour without feeling like a rancor was stomping on my spine.

And those were the easy days. Now my entire life seems to revolve around feeding, changing, burping, rocking, soothing, etc. etc. etc. The first few weeks, I barely even found the time to pee! Needless to say, falling behind on my MMOs is the least of my worries. Even this blog post has taken me three sittings to write (so far). These days whenever I have free time, it’s no longer MMOs time, it’s do-my-long-neglected-chores time, eat-before-I-forget time, or catch-up-on-some-Zs time.

Yeah, I definitely miss playing games and blogging. There are evenings when I’m looking wistfully over my husband’s shoulder as he plays SWTOR while I’m nursing the baby, living vicariously through him as he clears Ops with our guild. I still have yet to play much of Mass Effect 3, since I made it only as far as the introduction. I’m still struggling with the decision of whether or not to preorder The Secret World. Will I have more time by then? Admittedly, taking care of the baby is getting easier day by day as she grows and I’m getting the hang of things.

But you know, despite being horribly sleep deprived and having to say good bye to all my hobbies, I love being a mom. I’d do it all over again in a second, and sacrifice even a whole lot more. Anyway, I think it’s time to officially proclaim this blogging dry spell as the semi-hiatus that it is. I’m not going to shut this site down or anything, I love blogging too much for that and I have every intention of starting up again once things get a little less crazy. Posts still might pop up every now and then depending on my schedule, but I think things are going to remain quiet for the next little while.

I look forward to when things around here pick up once more — when I start gaming again or when the baby can sleep more than two hours without waking up crying…whichever comes first! Thanks for reading if you’re still around, and have fun for me!

29 comments

  1. Welcome back to blogdom, GC. So glad to hear you are embracing motherhood. No worries about not blogging. The first few months after childbirth are so important for developing that parental bond. My wife and I had a somewhat trying experience with our child, as he was adopted from South Korea (as was my wife when she was a baby). His body time clock was off by half a day, so it took a while to get his sleep pattern adjusted. Needless to say, I don’t think I’ve been that exhausted as I was those first couple of months. But, it was all worth it in the end. Best wishes to you and yours, and we’ll see you back here whenever you’re ready. Namaste!


    • Aww, thanks! :) And we had the same issue with getting our little one’s sleep pattern adjusted as well, but I think it was due to my own sleeping patterns during the last month of my pregnancy. My friend told me that the baby will follow a similar schedule when she’s born, and I had insomnia and wasn’t able to sleep until sunrise most days. Sure enough, the first couple of weeks baby was wide awake all night until 7am in the morning. Yeah, we were so exhausted!


  2. We miss you, but understand. Give the little one hugs for me. And give Rykeen a good handshake. Lol


  3. Aw, we miss you but it’s totally understandable! I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying motherhood and that all is well, despite the hecticness! MMOGamerBaby always comes first. :)

    Oh, and MMOGB, you have a fantastic mom! :)


    • Aww thanks! And “MMOGB”, I love that! :)


  4. Games (and your friends and readers) will always be there by childhood is fleeting. Enjoy it while it lasts! Before you know it you’ll be grinding dailies at 11 pm while keeping one eye on the clock wondering where she could be, imagining all kinds of horrible things when the truth is she and her friends stopped for a slice of pizza on the way home from the movies.

    Er, assuming kids are still allowed to go to the movies these days… when I grew up we were just getting those new-fangled talkies and he had to borrow the family horse to go see them. :)


    • Er, pardon the pre-coffee and pre-‘Where are my danged glasses?’ typos.

      “be there BUT childhood” and “and WE had to borrow”


    • LOL if she’ll grow up to be anything like me, there will be a lot of nights like that. I hope she’ll be a better kid than me or else I’ll go nuts! But by then I think my husband will be even more paranoid than I am ;)


  5. I still read and, no worries, it’s totally understandable like everyone else said. :D And awww, it’s lovely to hear things are going well with the little one!


    • We’re definitely starting to get a schedule down, hopefully I’ll get into the groove of things soon to play more and blog more :)


  6. Yeah there’s knowing and then knowing, but I’m glad you guys have adapted. Even having been through it once, I’m not sure I’m prepared for the second go around that’s coming my way this summer.

    Anyway, no worries about the blog, we’ll all still be here when you’re ready to start writing again through the magic of RSS. :)


    • Like one of my doctor’s told me when I was telling him about my pregnancy symptoms, yeah it’s tough but who knows, you might just be crazy enough to do it all over again!


  7. We miss you! Come back when you are able, there is always a spot for you. And in the meantime, thanks for letting Rykeen come out to play!


    • Rykeen is loving SWTOR, and even though I don’t have the time to play right now, I’m so glad he’s enjoying himself so much. He loves the guild too, and the people :)


  8. All us parents understand….gaming falls waaaaay down the list but then inches its way back up as time progresses. Congrats again…We will always welcome you back…


    • Good thing is, by then I should have a nice back log of games to go through to keep me busy :) Games with pause buttons first, then ease back into MMOs, methinks :)


  9. There is no way I’m taking you off my blog subscriptions yet. Hang in there. The funny thing is that all of the platitudes everyone tells you about how hard it is and how quickly you forget that are absolutely true. I never believed or understood until we had Mouse.

    Come back to us when you have the time and not a minute sooner.


    • Thank you! It’s great to hear from someone who has been there done that :)


  10. Oh MMOGC… It won’t get any easier.:) But that’s alright, you get it all back when you get those peaceful moments when your kid isn’t screaming their head off and you just share a nice, comfortable silence. It doesn’t happen often, but it does happen. Also, Mother is the word for God on the hearts and lips of all children – that baby loves you more than words could ever properly describe. After reading this post, it sounds like that feeling is wholly mutual.

    Don’t worry too much about any absences. This is one of life’s biggest exceptions. Your time is definitely needed elsewhere, and I think you’ll find many, if not all, of your readers will understand.

    Take care, MMOGC. Take care of yourself and your family with its newest addition.


    • Thank you for your well wishes, I can’t wait for my life to return to its normal schedule. I know it’s going to be a while though…but you’re right, it is all worth it, I love being a mom!


  11. Welcome back from diaperworld and sleep in two-hours increments :-) February you say, so the “colic” update to “World of Motherhood” should hit in a couple of monthes ;-) No worry, it’s just a matter of walking… And lots of it. My experience does strongly suggest that there is a genetic component to the love of MMO, so in about 8 years you should have an awesome gaming partner.


    • That’s one thing I’m very grateful for, that my little girl doesn’t have colic. She’s fussy, but the horror stories I’ve heard from new parents with colicky babies make me feel very lucky :P

      And I can’t wait til we can play MMOs as a family. That is, if she’ll be into games (I hope so!) She can DPS :P


  12. I’m always amazed at women who have babies. It’s some magical alien shit going on. You just popped out a living breathing human…that’s crazy yo.

    It’s a huge job, and I know I wouldn’t be up to the challenge, being a dad would be much easier…thank you jesus for my penis.


    • Heck, I’ve actually lived through it…but 6 weeks later, I still can’t believe I popped out a living breathing human… :P


  13. After trying to play SWTOR with the new baby (well, she’s 8+ months now), I think I’m holding off on MMOs for a bit. Even though she does sleep most of the night now, you still find those few hours before you go to sleep to be full of stuff you need to do. I may get GW2 simply because there is no monthly sub so I won’t feel as if I’m throwing my money away.

    When they tell you a baby changes everything, you just don’t really get it, do you? :) But it is the best adventure yet!


    • Oh yeah, you really don’t get it until it happens. Like, really don’t get it :D

      Who know when GW2 will come out, but I pre-purchased too…hopefully it’ll be late in the year, because I’m looking forward to that game big time!


  14. Your blog is the epitome of awesome, it enticed me to play STO, and keep me going with EVERY update of SWTOR up until it came out, now that i’m playing my only regret is not playing with you.

    On the bright side, congrats and happy hunting MmoGC-Mom ^____^

    lmao @ rancor spine stomping…


    • Aww, thank you so much for your kind words! Comments like yours remind me why I love blogging, and the reason why I’m just taking a break and not calling it quits. Thank you for reading my blog :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,370 other followers