h1

Dive Into The World Of Blogging With The Newbie Blogger Initiative

May 1, 2012

Ever wondered how this blog came about? Well, once upon a time, MMOGC’s passion for gaming and MMOGC’s passion for writing hooked up at a wild party over a line of tequila shots, and it was hot, steamy love at first sight. Not long afterward, this blog was born and they all lived happily ever after.

Okay fine, so maybe there was a lot more to it than that.

In truth, in the days leading up to my decision to start a blog, there were plenty of false starts, questions without answers, not to mention a shameful amount of procrastination. There were also moments of agonizing doubt. Will anyone even read my stuff? What if they do and hate it? What if I run out of ideas? Hmm, come to think of it, maybe there actually were some tequila shots involved. At least I think. Anyway, my point is, there definitely wasn’t anything easy or certain on that day a little more than two years ago when I finally decided to take the plunge, but I have to say this: Looking back, I’m damn glad I made the decision. Blogging is one of the most gratifying hobbies I’ve ever chosen to take up.

That is why I’m very pleased to be involved with a program called the Newbie Blogger Initiative, which kicks off today. Headed by Syp of BioBreak and sponsored by over 70 bloggers, the NBI strives to encourage new and aspiring bloggers to get their own blogs off the ground. So if you’ve always wanted to blog and need advice, support, or just some of that plain old motivation to get yourself started, we invite you to head on over to the NBI forums and dive right in. We know that venturing into the world of blogging can be a terrifying notion, but it needn’t be! Introduce yourself and make yourself at home, we’re here to help.

That said, look forward to seeing some articles related to tips and advice for blogging-hopefuls here on MMOGC during the month of May, because I sure look forward to writing them. I may not be gaming much these days but by golly you bet your publish button I’ll still blog, and I’m happy that it’s to support such a fun and wonderful initiative.

I already have a few ideas for posts lined up, but as always feel free to leave a comment here to ask any questions you may have, or better yet, join us for discussion on the forums! And it’s not too late for current bloggers to sponsor and get in on this either; during this exciting time, newbies and veterans alike will be sharing ideas and learning from each other. With so many of us involved, you’ll no doubt be seeing a lot of great posts popping up around the blogosphere dedicated to the NBI this month. Truly, there is no better time to be a new blogger.

So what are you waiting for? Push aside those doubts, skip the tequila hangover and start your blog today!

9 comments

  1. Why is it that all sorts of affairs have alcohol involved? *grins*. Hope all is well with you and the little MMOGC :) Miss ya on TOR!! -Jerrit


    • Alcohol shenanigans? No way!:D Hey there fellow RMCer, miss ya too!


  2. Nice! I’ll mention this on my blog.


    • You should check out the NBI forums! I think there’s stuff for new and old bloggers alike. Definitely seeing a lot of cool ideas and discussion.


  3. [...] inspire me to start, is useful for anyone thinking about putting themselves out there. Head over to MMOGamerchick’s blog for more info. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this [...]


  4. Just getting in from work eating dinner, but i saw this New Blogger Initiative posted about earlier when at work and thought what a great idea. So said to self I’ll have to blog post about this later when i get home from work.

    So i’ll be posting about this later on my blog of course. I’ll probably link as much participating MMO blogs as possible that i usually read one way or another for the cause. I’n the end i’m sure we as veteran bloggers as all connected by the webs we all weave among all the blogs we all read to put forth words of advice to the New Newbie Bloggers. Those that will eventually come forth and spill new blood shaking up the various MMO communities with their opinions and take on things.

    Stay tuned…


    • There are a lot of newbie blogs popping up already, which is great. There’s a list of them on the forums as well as on BioBreak.


  5. First I’ve heard of this but it sounds great! I really do need to start setting time aside to blog… I have about 4 or 5 half-finished in my queue for Warlock, Torchlight 2, and a few other things. But instead I go home, cook and clean for a bit, do the father thing… and then game till it’s bed-time! Discipline, I need to re-find mine!


    • Haha, I know how that is. My days now mostly revolve around taking care of the baby, cooking and cleaning if I can swing it. Definitely miss game time, and of course, without much game time there’s not much game blogging :P



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,370 other followers