h1

Pic Of The Day

July 26, 2012

I’ve been continuing to make my way through The Secret World and am currently now in Egypt, where I’m getting some major Indiana Jones vibes. Funcom, all I have to say is…I approve.

For the last couple of days questing in the Scorched Desert, I found that the main story missions have suddenly taken a turn for the more puzzle-ly. These are just a fraction of my lulz-inducing notes from a string of mind-benders last night:

By the way, you know how we’re always poo-pooing over “kill ten rats” quests? They’re not always so bad. It just made me smile to myself a little, because you have NO IDEA how nice and refreshing it was to finally give my brain a rest and let loose during a “kill X ghouls” mission after all of that.

9 comments

  1. That is tempting me to try out TSW more than any screenshot has. Amazing.


    • If you don’t want to miss anything, you kind of have to take notes and I tend to freestyle with it. Some of these puzzles can come out of nowhere when you least expect it. I try hard not to look up the solutions until I’ve exhausted myself trying to figure it out.


  2. Ahhh, yes, investigation missions. I love them so! Nothing in any MMO has ever made me feel more accomplished than cracking those! (Actually those notes are from a story mission, yes? I’ve even run into some riddle-y whatnot in a few side missions, which is AWESOME.)


    • Yeah, it does make you feel like a million bucks when you crack a investigation mission. But indeed, the above notes are from the main mission. Like you, I’ve also come across side missions that should have been labeled investigation, lol. Just shows the puzzles can come out of nowhere and are scattered quite randomly all over the game.


  3. They are allot of puzzles indeed in Egypt. As well there are a a few really puzzling puzzles in City of the Gods as well when you get there. It just seem to keep getting better every zone you go to not all I puzzles only but the zones itself just keep getting better.

    I should be off to the farmlands of Translyvania or whatever its called after putting aside that special faction mission for a while at Faction 9.


    • Oh, good to know there are more awaiting me in Egypt! The puzzles in Solomon Islands were more or less limited to the investigation quests, so I was pleasantly surprised when I saw that the actual story missions in Egypt had puzzle elements. I’d want that to continue.


  4. So is that person in #6 a representation of when you got frustrated and said eff it, threw your hands up in the air, and headed to google?! :o) LOL great stuff MMOGC!


    • And the representation of “this is bullshit!” right before that? :P

      Happy, though, that this was actually one long quest chain where I did not have to look up hints at all, so proud of myself, LOL.


  5. I don’t have anything quite as pretty as this…. but I have a desktop covered in frantically scribbled post-it notes and cryptic drawings in sharpie. Mmmmmm sharpie high.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers