h1

Vistas = Pretty Wallpaper

August 29, 2012

Step 1: Find Vista point on map.

Step 2: Jump, jump, jump, fall, swear a blue streak, jump, jump, jump, repeat as necessary until arrival at said Vista.

Step 3: Press F

Step 4: Spam PrtScrn PrtScrn PrtScrn PrtScrn PrtScrn PrtScrn PrtScrn PrtScrn PrtScrn PrtScrn…

Am I the only one who does this? Somehow, I don’t think so. Here are some of my favorites. It’s too hard to choose just one for my wallpaper, so I just have them all on rotate at the moment.

31 comments

  1. 99% of my screens thus far are vistas, and I take screenshots at 1 FPS…or so it seems.


    • Yep. I know what you mean. I can replay entire vista cutscenes by simply going to my images and pressing the –> key, for heaven’s sake!


  2. There was one place in Star Wars Galaxies that I loved. Made a waypoint and took a screenshot from there. It was a position overlooking the city of Theed on Naboo. From that spot I could see all the waterfalls and the palace. It was magnificent.

    I love it when a game just wow’s you with a view. SWTOR has a bunch of those moments for me.


    • Heh heh, what is it about waterfalls? I’ve always been dazzled by Naboo because of its waterfalls. And as you can see, I love taking pics of them in MMOs too :P


  3. I fear this game. I’m an Explorer type, hardcore. It will own my time, if I let it.

    …but oh, how sweet it looks. :)


    • I’m an explorer too, and while there’s plenty of exploration in GW2, the game doesn’t exactly scratch that itch for me. Instead, I find it really appeals more to my dratted obsessive compulsive completionist side, with points marked on your map for you I am constantly getting an unshakeable urge to visit them all whenever I glance at it :D


      • @Tesh
        it’s beyond me how you are still not playing! :D it’s explorer’s paradise. <3

        @MMOGC
        Viastas are great indeed! hope you've seen my recent panorama highres WPs btw! :)


      • I did, they’re gorgeous!


  4. Gorgeous. And no, of course you’re not alone.


  5. Er, what’s F do?


    • That’s my “action” key, I guess. I thought that was default, but maybe not.


      • No, you’re right. “F” is the default for interacting with pretty much everything in the game.


      • Oh that’s right, you have to “Activate” a Vista. Forgot about that part.


  6. Does this answer your question? :) http://worldsendtavern.net/?p=469

    Make sure to do all the vistas during the day and the night cycle for full effect as seen in the last 2 pics in that post.


    • Most of the time I prefer daylight shots, unless the environment is dusky to begin with, but I’d love to catch some shots at sunrise/sunset.


  7. This is pretty much what I do for every single vista :)


    • Nice :D Minus or add swearing as required!


      • I’ve seen at least one apparent fake-out on getting to a vista: some obvious looking steps in Hoelbrak that seem impossible to traverse about halfway along, when the vista itself is fairly easy to get to from the other side.


  8. You’re definitely not alone. Vistas are the one chance to take a proper, first-person screenshot (I’m really missing a first-person view in this game! How could they not make it?!)


    • Yeah, seriously. The inability to take first-person screenies does get on my nerves.


  9. You’ve made me so glad that I spent all day today and yesterday downloading the patch updates. :D Can’t wait to play tonight!

    Must wait until husband gets home so he can see the shinies too, though. :( And we can’t play together yet because his laptop won’t run it. Grr. But, otherwise, excited!


    • Haha, I’m not allowed to play my main without my husband either. Thank god for alts…


      • I think we’ll be sharing an account until he gets a new laptop. Thankfully, the game PC and consoles are in the same room, so one we can trade off when we want to play something. :)


  10. Yep, I must be the only person existence who finds vistas just a leeeetle disappointing :/

    You see when I climbed/jumped/flew/teleported to that obscure corner of a map in City of Heroes and got the exploration badge for it, I would also also get a little chunk of lore about how super powered hero or villain X once did Y at this spot during the Z incident, fleshing out the backstory of the world. In TSW when I work out how to get to lore piece in an seemingly impossible location I get rewarded with a chunk of writing made of pure awesome.

    In Guild Wars 2, if its a vista, I get a swoopy cutscene of where I’ve just been exploring. If its just a standard point of interest I get nowt but a completion bar moving rightwards…

    …I just can’t help feeling oddly let down. Arenanet seem to be very stingy in doling the lore they so obviously have.

    TL;DR: Stands at vista, *shakes fist at sky*, shouts at young whippersnappers to get off his lawn :)


    • Oh I agree, vistas are completely useless and totally feel thrown in at the very last minute. But, heck, they’re pretty enough and lord knows useless features in MMOs have never stopped me :P


  11. I absolutely love the vistas. And the points of interest and the hearts and the skill points and the harvesting nodes. Every time I see a mark on my map, I have to go there!

    My poor Print Screen key.


  12. Those are some very pretty screens.


  13. Wow, these are some incredible pictures! That’s one of my biggest ‘things’ about an MMO, I want to be able to just lose myself in the environment. It’s like hiking irl, only I can do it sitting down… a little more.


  14. Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr…

    Whut?

    Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr, Prtscr…


    • Heh heh, is your Prtscr key worn out yet? :D



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,380 other followers