h1

TSW Night: Using Our Heads

October 16, 2012

The Council of Venice, a watch-group formed to uphold the rules and ensure that all factions in The Secret World are keeping the peace. Also known as the guys that show up only after we’ve taken care of the mess.

So, another Monday night come and gone, which means another night of shenanigans in The Secret World. And as far as TSW Nights go, I have to say last night’s play session was a rather productive one. Admittedly, last week most of us were rusty and still struggling to remember how to play our characters, but this week we brought our game faces!

First things first; I can now scratch one biggie off my to-do list — “Obtain stolen rocket launcher from forces of evil.” It’s right there on the agenda between “Clean out rain gutters” and “Remember to buy Halloween candy.”

Fortunately, everyone last night was at least Faction Rank 6 or higher and were able to pick up the mission, and two groups were formed to brave the dangers ahead. It worked out well too, because how anyone could have done this quest chain solo at that level is beyond me. Poor Scopique and I were being torn apart by mercenary bullets until I poked my husband in the ribs and got him to switch to heals. Things got easier after that, though snipers trying to shoot at my face still posed an aggravating problem. Staying out of the light was the key, though I found running around like a chicken with its head cut off also kind of helped. In my humble opinion.

Oh, how I wish I had a picture of my character Laeyn and her brand-spanking new rocket launcher to post here right now, complete with an obligatory and ridiculous caption like “Say hello to my little friend!” perhaps, but sadly I don’t even possess the number of skill points required to equip it at the moment since I blew them all last session. I have to accrue 5 more SP, though if the rumors about an upcoming chainsaw auxiliary weapon are true, I may save them for that. After all, when it comes to dealing the zombies, I like to get up close and personal, and chainsaws are much more hands-on, don’t you think?

Afterwards, the remaining Knights of Mercy headed back to Kingsmouth town to see the Reverend Henry Hawthorn in order to pick up “Digging Deeper”, the eponymous investigation quest from Issue 2.

If you play TSW and haven’t done that one yet, do make the time! Major Indiana Jones vibes pouring off this one. It’s probably the most fun I’ve ever had doing an investigation mission, though it probably helped that the format of it was perfect for a group. They say two heads are better than one, so five heads we should be golden, right? Well, for the most part I’d say that’s true, though lucky for those heads none of the puzzles were as unforgiving as the first room in The Last Crusade. The worst we had to contend with for screwing up was a jet of poison, once again sending us all into a flailing panic. I have to say, running around like chickens with their head cut off didn’t work quite so well that time.

Only the penitent man will pass.

Yes, there were mistakes aplenty and a lot of spinning our wheels, but this made for lots of laughs along the way and most importantly, in the end the group effort paid off. When I first heard about TSW nights, this was pretty much what I pictured: people getting together and pooling their knowledge, adding different viewpoints to the problem and brainstorming solutions. Thank goodness someone else was familiar with music theory, for instance; all that knowledge has sadly left me since high school, when studies halted my flute and piano lessons.

All in all, I was amazed at how well things went, with everyone pitching in with suggestions and ideas which ultimately got us through. To me, the kind of quests that make you think and research are definitely one of TSW’s best features. One thing’s for sure — when Funcom gets around to putting in those group investigation quests they have planned, I am so there.

6 comments

  1. Wish I can join in but the pesky thing called a “job” keeps getting in the way. Though this time I was in a plane flying to the west coast. Glad you and the Cabal had fun. I’ll need to grab some of you to help me get that stolen weapon sometime. Tried solo…ah no…no way. Died 10 times b4 I gave up. Lol.


    • Some others have said the scheduling gets in the way of being able to participate, we’re definitely going to see if we can arrange some other nights if enough people are interested. Anyway, that rocket launcher quest was insane, even at rank 12 or something I was getting shredded!


  2. Missed it, was a bit tired from work and fell asleep quite early after getting home. Will try for next TSW Night.

    Also was off Twitter for a week… couldn’t remember my password to get on Twitter. Finally got on yesterday after trying a 101 different password combinations of what i thought it previously was.

    Ahh well there is next week TSW Night to look forward to.

    I still not sure which mission was the one that gave the Rocket Launcher. But if the very top screenshot image is the one for that mission, the one for the armament and the seemingly Council of Venice special assignment mission then thats the one I remember being stuck on for some time. Thats one hell of a hard mission assuming it’s that one.


    • The quest that gives the rocket launcher is called the Venetian Missile Crisis. Yep, that’s the one…and it *IS* one hell of a mission, it would have been next to impossible for me to solo.


      • I tried that Mission: Venetian Missile Crisis for several hours one evening and it was damn tough to get past the first teir after you zone in. I know i had more than a dozen attempts and i just never could have enough reserve health left to survive what I assume was the final guy in that gauntlet to get past it. I kinda felt hell, need a group for this, so i just left the mission at that till whenever. So i can agree its damn hard to do solo, I know I tried it.


      • Give a shout if you need help with it. I’m not going to be around next Monday, but those who will no doubt will be willing to lend a hand. By grouping up and “meeting up”, other teammates will be able to enter the instance and help out.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers