h1

The Secret World: Here Kitty Kitty Kitty

October 22, 2012

Aww, look at the kittens so fluffy and cute and adora–oh wait, this is The Secret World. Hmm, this isn’t going to end well, is it?

I have to confess, I’ve been waiting for this for a long time. I always look forward to October because that’s when all the MMOs trot out their Halloween events, but most of all I was holding my breath to see what Funcom would do for The Secret World.

It’s hard not to expect the amazing, because you gotta admit, something like this is like right up their alley. Like the devs have said themselves, Halloween is like their Christmas. To get a sense of what a big deal this is to them, they’ve been talking and teasing about this since launch. If nothing else, the trailer for the event certainly reaffirmed my decision to stay subscribed to this game. In a word, it looked fantastic — new investigation quests, a dungeon encounter, cool rewards.

The best part? Now that I’ve actually done the event for myself, not only did I have a blast, but I also have to say that, yeah, it is indeed unlike any other MMO Halloween event I’ve ever experienced. I’m big enough to admit that at one point, I screamed. Not to be the bringer of spoilers, but it was sufficiently creepy, just the right amount of disturbing, and it doesn’t hold back. One other thing: I hope y’all are cat people.

Well, actually. On second thought, it might be less unsettling if you weren’t.

Of course, amidst the new are some of the old — more specifically, a couple of old friends who will contact you to initiate the quest. One of the best things about TSW? The colorful, memorable NPCs. When I got that phone call from Madame Rogét asking me if I remembered her, I had to laugh. How could I forget Kingsmouth’s own soothsayer and part-time prostitute, she of the fake accent and fuzzy handcuffs? And then there’s Deputy Andy, whose ominous quote about his drowned kittens still haunts me. As it’s one of most referenced quotes from the game, I’m guessing I’m not the only one who feels this way.

Samhain and the Cat God are here.

Both are amongst the first quest givers you meet in the game, so even if you only played TSW briefly, you would have encountered them. Months later, I still remember their names and personal stories as clear as day. Now, I’m aware Funcom has had their Halloween event up their sleeve for a while, but the fact that Deputy Andy’s dead kittens are at the heart of this mystery has got me wondering — damn, just how long has Funcom been planning for this? Like, really?

Bottom line is, I knew beforehand that I was going to be too busy to game tonight, so no Monday TSW night for me this week. But even if that weren’t the case, I know I wouldn’t have been able to wait to do the event. I gave in to the temptation last Friday, when I along with a few guildmates managed to complete the quest chain.

For the Cat God’s sake, if you play TSW the Halloween quests are not to be missed. The first part is completely doable solo if you’ve gotten most of the way through the Solomon Islands, but having friends to brainstorm ideas will help with figuring out the investigation quest. Second part is a bit tougher, and I’m not just talking about the puzzle. If you aren’t already in the later parts of the game, having a friend who is to help will make it easier, but it’s still possible to go it alone if you’re careful. The final showdown, however, is classified as a dungeon encounter and a group is recommended.

At the end of it, you get an outfit and a really cool portal tentacle cat! Speaking as a self-confessed companion pet addict, the uniqueness of the latter makes it all worthwhile. Now to find the little guy a veterinarian who won’t run away screaming at the first sight of him.

Wherever that portal takes him, I hope he does his business there too. I hate cleaning litter boxes.

10 comments

  1. The Halloween quest lines really were fantastic. I loved the twist at the end of the storyline, a great piece of misdirection by Funcom considering how much of their promotion has been centred on the Cat God.
    It’s the little touches I liked though. The little coda at the end, that suggests a bit of hope for a happy ending for Andy and Moose was great. The characters really do feel like real people sometimes.


    • Yeah the ending was really great, and yay for Andy! Of all the characters I’ve encountered in the game, the ones in Kingsmouth have stayed with me the most. Maybe it’s their New Englander charms :D


  2. I hope they keep it, because I completed the first part, but the second part is “devastating”, and everyone I knew abandoned the game already, so I’m SOL.


    • I can’t make TSW night tonight, my mother is coming to visit and I have to pick her up at the airport. Will you be available next Monday? I will be on with my husband, the three of us should be more than enough to get you through part 2, and if we’re lucky I may be able to wrangle up some back up for part 3 as well.


  3. Loved the Halloween adventures myself. Wish I could’ve done it with you guys.

    Once again another entertaining entry. Love reading these!


    • Thanks! :) And yeah I know, too bad our schedules are completely different, I don’t ever get to see you in game, it seems :\


  4. Will surely be getting to the bottom of this Kitty Cat caper soon.


    • I still need to hunt down Incognito for his loot and achievement. I just didn’t have time to do everything that night after the main chain.


  5. I will do my best to be on next Monday. I’d love to get this event done, I’ll try to knock out the preliminaries this week. Great post in any case. What a cool Halloween event :-)


    • Barring any unforeseen circumstances, I’ll be on next Monday, will be happy to help out with the last fight or whatever you have left to do!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,367 other followers