h1

NaNoWriMo Completed, And Now For My Slow Recovery From Word Overdose

December 3, 2012

NaNoWinner

My poor blog didn’t see much activity in November, but didn’t I predict that all my writing efforts would be poured into National Novel Writing Month? Ultimately, though, it was worth it! Another year, another win!

Still, I have to say I came this close to karate chopping my keyboard in half towards the end, wondering to myself, “Why the hell am I doing this again?!”  (Of course, I’m pretty sure I said that to myself last November too.) Despite meeting the 50,000 word goal, I had a real rough time this year, whereas last year the words just seemed to roll off my fingertips onto the word processor.

Here are graphs showing my stats from 2011 vs. 2012. Compared to last year, you can see there are so many days this year where I barely made my daily word count, writing only as much as I had to to meet par.

Stats2011

2011

Stats2012

2012

There’s a couple obvious reasons for this, the biggie being a nine-month-old to look after this time, followed by the fact I’d started taking art commissions again and I always get a lot of projects around Christmas. I’m proud that I finished NaNoWriMo and still managed to juggle all my day-to-day obligations, but that pretty much meant my pastimes went out the window — stuff like blogging, gaming, reading, etc. When one uses helpful websites like Raptr and Goodreads to track one’s hobbies, it’s very noticeable when time spent doing those activities takes a giant nosedive.

Basically, I wrote whenever I had free time, and didn’t stop until I hit my daily word count. I told my fellow blogger and NaNo participant Rowan that I think I do a lot better when I’m working under pressure, so giving myself a quota of 1667 words to meet each day got my ass motivated to write, much more so than if I’d told myself I have a whole month to write 50K words. With the latter, I’m sure I’d only be tempted to procrastinate.

Anyway, I can’t deny I’m a little burned out. That’s the negative part about pushing yourself to write almost 1700 words a day; it’s very tiring and mentally draining, and while I had a lot of fun and I’m glad I did this again, boy, am I just glad November’s over. Given the transient nature of my memory, however, I’m sure I’ll just forget all about the pain and pressure again the next time NaNo rolls around, heh. Thing is, just like last year, I managed to “win” but didn’t actually get to finish my novel, a romance/fantasy tentatively titled Mage’s Fire (hush, I know I suck at names). So maybe in 2012, I’ll take a page from Blue Kae’s book and have myself a NaNoFiMo, as there may be a couple dozen K words left in this story yet.

In any case, I wouldn’t be surprised at all if it takes me a little while to ease back into blogging, but I’ll most definitely be back here writing again, maybe real soon, too! In part because I just vowed to spend the holiday season playing games until my eyes bleed out.

10 comments

  1. Congratulations!


  2. Congrats! :) You are more steadfast than I. NaNoWriMo works well for bolstering new ideas for me, but I don’t have much staying power for the actual writing…


    • Yeah, I have to push myself pretty hard. NaNo worked for me on the ideas front too; normally, I would only have snippets of the story in my head and one of the biggest challenges is to figure out how to lead up to them or link them together. Sometimes writing freely allows me to stumble upon solutions accidentally. Opens up possibilities quite nicely.


  3. Wow congrats! I could never do it, well maybe but you really have to discipline yourself! I have ideas but can’t get them on paper haha. Good for you!!! :D


    • One of my main reasons for doing NaNo was so I could put ideas on paper :P I have too many of them swimming around in my head, and some of them are more developed than others. I’m afraid that one day I’ll forget everything.


  4. Even if the story’s not finished, but congratulations for finishing the NaNo challenge! Especially given all the other stuff you had going on.


    • Thanks. One of these days, I’ll finish. At least coming up with words doesn’t seem to be the problem, but all my stories seem to take too long to tell.


  5. Wow, congrats!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,367 other followers