h1

Read Lately: SWTOR: Annihilation

January 4, 2013

SWTOR AnnihilationI have to say Annihilation is probably one of the better Star Wars books by Drew Karpyshyn, which is quite a relief after the train wreck that I thought was Star Wars: The Old Republic: Revan. It’s amazing what a good writer he can be when he’s not being rushed. Now that he is no longer at BioWare, I’m glad he left us with this before moving on to his future endeavors.

For a while we’ve known that Satele Shan, the Grand Master of the Jedi Order during this time in the Old Republic, has a “secret son.” We met Theron Shan when he first appeared in The Lost Suns comic. Now he stars in his own novel, which further explores his activities as an undercover agent and operative for the Republic, but the book also reveals a lot more about his parents’ history and his own mysterious past.

I could tell Karpyshyn had a lot of fun writing Theron’s story. It is my experience that characters in books based on movies/TV shows/video games, etc. very often read like caricatures and hardly ever feel like real people. However, I thought Theron had a clear personality right away, and even found myself taken in by his confidence and dry wit. I also enjoyed acquainting myself the supporting characters like Teff’ith the Twi’lek, whose weak grasp of Galactic Basic was a nice humorous touch, as well as finding out more about Master Gnost-Dural, whom fans of SWTOR will no doubt recognize as the keeper of the Jedi archives.

The story is pretty much your run-of-the-mill fare, but very entertaining nonetheless. There were of course the obligatory space combat and lightsaber battle scenes, but I was surprised at how well done they were. Drew Karpyshyn is extremely adept at writing good action, but I was even more surprised to see how skillfully he tackled some of the emotional issues in this book without making them sound overly contrived or sappy. Like I said, he can be very good when given enough time to develop his characters.

One last thing I should note: I listened to the audiobook of this, courtesy of my library’s digital collection. Though I’m confident to claim Annihilation as a solid entry to the world of Star Wars novels, in the interest of full disclosure I must also mention the possibility that the quality of the audio version may have influenced my opinion. For one thing, it was my first experience with a Star Wars audiobook, so I’ve only just discovered the talent of Marc Thompson, who is probably one of the best audiobook narrators I’ve ever come across. His voices are simply phenomenal, and together with the sound effects and music I was just blown away.

2 comments

  1. Delayed reply right? Anyways, nice blog. I tend to favor the tsw posts since I’m more in love with that game at the moment than I am tor. If you have access to more star wars audiobooks, and assuming your library has the same versions as audible, I highly recommend the darth bane trilogy and darth plagueis (sp?). DP is a great book and darth bane will get you wanting to play a sith faction force user, especially the last 2 books (but the first is great too). The latest X-Wing book is great too. Mercy Kill, I believe it’s called.

    Keep on trucking and/or blogging.


    • Haha, well I’ve been falling way behind on my blogging myself. Anyway, I have read Darth Plagueis as well as the first two books of the Darth Bane trilogy. I agree, great books. Like I said, I also love Drew Karpyshyn when he’s at his best. I still need to pick up the last Darth Bane book though, I hope they have it in audioformat at my library! And yes, they are the same versions as audible!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers